My First Resolutions

Happy New Year! It feels so weird that the holidays are already over, and even weirder that I won’t be heading back to school in a couple of weeks, so I’m not really getting back into any sort of routine. I really want to enjoy the time I have off though, because even though I’m beyond excited to get my first real job, I know I won’t have much free time once I start. So I’m excited to have some down time at home…but I’m hoping it doesn’t last more than a few months!

I’m not one to make resolutions. I do like to set goals for myself, but they’re rarely something I put into words. I really want to set some goals for myself this year, because my life will be changing a LOT, and I want to set some clear resolutions for myself. I’m not saying I’ll be perfect at all of these goals, but having them written down keeps me accountable to them, and I think choosing more realistic goals will help me achieve them.

1. Apply to at least 3 jobs per week. Ideally, I’d like to apply to one (on average) each week day, so 5 per week. But if I get at least 3 applications done, I’ll be happy.

2. Drink more water! Having a reusable water bottle handy in the fridge has helped me drink more water over the past 6 months, but I would like to go through at least 2 full water bottles each day. That’s 2 pints of water, and I think that’s a doable goal.

3. Eat more raw foods. This is a little harder to do in the winter months, when fresh produce isn’t as good and I want warming foods more often. But I know I feel my best when my diet is at least 50% raw, so I’m planning on incorporating at least one big salad per day (I usually do this anyway), fresh fruit at every meal and trying my hand at sprouting beans/grains.

I will definitely keep eating banana softserve for breakfast as often as possible.

I will definitely keep eating banana softserve for breakfast as often as possible.

4. Take control of my health. I mentioned in this post that I haven’t had my period in now (almost) 8 months. Obviously, that isn’t healthy and I know I need to see my doctor about this issue. I think there are some other underlying issues, since I’m dealing with acne and I’m not as lean as I think I should be for how clean I eat and how much I exercise. On that last topic, I really think I need to change my routine drastically–I don’t incorporate rest days as much as I should (I take one once or twice a month on average, and they’re very hard for me to take mentally), I have some digestive problems (even after cutting out most gluten) and I’m not sure I’m eating enough for my workouts. I will definitely discuss these issues with my doctor and hopefully I can get an answer as to why my body isn’t functioning the way it should.

5. Do something out of my comfort zone. I tend to be kinda cautious and not totally adventurous, but I’m really considering doing something that scares me, like cutting my hair shorter or telling somebody I love them or going skydiving or something. Okay, probably not that last one, but I need to challenge myself in some way. I think that maybe if I end up moving out of state for my first job, it’ll be a big step out of my comfort zone since I’ve never lived farther than 2 hours away from my family. We’ll see what happens with this one!

6. Stop comparing myself to other people. This is one of my biggest bad habits. I constantly compare my body, my workouts, my lifestyle choices, my success to other people’s and all it does is make me miserable. I need to take more pride in myself, and realize that there’s no point in comparing myself to other people because I’m unique and I need to respect that.

I can see more selfies in my future as a way to reassure myself that I'm awesome just the way I am!

I can see more selfies in my future as a way to reassure myself that I’m awesome just the way I am!

Do you make resolutions or goals? What are some of yours for 2014?

13 thoughts on “My First Resolutions

  1. I love all your resolutions. I didn’t make any for this year. I’m just kinda going with the flow and making goals as I get to them and such. I hope you can get your period issues figured out. It’s nice to not have it, that’s for sure, but not having it isn’t a good thing. Just some random stuff that popped into my head, I know that exercise can alter it a lot, especially if you don’t rest. I’m on the pill and my exercise has started to alter it. I think. I actually have to find out about that, too, but that’s what I’m telling myself until I know for sure. Good luck again looking for a job. I hate applying for jobs, especially when they make you do those personality tests. Yuck.

    • That’s interesting about exercise and the period connection, definitely something I’ll want to bring up when I see my doctor since that could be one of the underlying issues.

      Job applications are awful. And the personality tests are very useless, and honestly I don’t see the point to using them at all. I guess maybe just to save them the time from trying to find out if you’re the right candidate, but I think a phone or in-person interview is a better way of figuring out someone’s personality.

  2. I think doing something out of your comfort zone is a great idea. I think I’ll make that a goal for myself to do something out of my comfort zone once a month next year. Thanks for the idea. Happy new year!!

    • I love the idea of doing it once a month! That way, it’s something you have to do more often and you can’t put it off as easily.

  3. P says:

    I think all of your resolutions are doable. I need to drink more water as well, and I definitely think keeping a reusable water bottle near you at all times can help drastically 🙂

    • It’s crazy how much more I drink when I have a water bottle around me all the time. I used to just forget or ignore my thirst until it was too late, not so good!

  4. These are beautiful! Ours are a little bit similar: I’m going to start taking more auditions, continue to eat as much raw food as possible, and be more giving with my time in order to invest in relationships! Each year that as I get older, I realize more and more how important the people are in my life:)

    • I love your last statement because it’s SO true–we do need to invest in those relationships in order for them to grow, and they can be so meaningful to us in return!

  5. Getting out your comfort zone is a great goal and I really do think you need to do something crazy now and again. This is something I am working on myself and I will be challenging myself this year with various challenges. One of the things I am working on at the moment is learning to be uncomfortable because getting out the comfort does mean doing stuff that feels uncomfortable which had to led me to devise a challenge will I will be doing soon. I will be keeping my underwear in a wedgie for a day and not allowing myself to adjust it. I know it sounds crazy but what better way to get uncomfortable and learning to deal with it – and besides I want to do something crazy whilst I am at. I’ve written more about this challenge on my blog so please check it out.

    Have a great year and I hope you get out of your comfort zone this year – and good luck with your other goals too!

    Katie x
    http://katieloveslife94.blogspot.co.uk

  6. Third time commenting …it keeps deleting. Long story short? I like your goals. Lol….I know am late to game but I save all your posts .

Comments are closed.