Post-Thanksgiving (No) Blues

Do you ever feel let down after a holiday is over? I almost always do, especially after Christmas. It’s always a little sad to have to take everything down, and move on to real life again. I’m usually a little upset after Thanksgiving is over, usually because it means that I have to go back to school in a few days. This year, though, I’m kind of ready for Thanksgiving break to be over. Not that break was bad–I really needed the time off from school–but I’m more than ready for the semester, and my time in college, to be over. Senioritis, much?!

Even though break is almost over, and I’m itching to go back to school and finish up the semester strong (just 8 more days of classes, then finals) I’ve definitely enjoyed Thanksgiving break while it lasted. It was pretty low-key, mostly just plenty of time spent with my parents and sister and I wouldn’t have it any other way. But I also had some pretty delicious food (on Thanksgiving Day and otherwise), did some retail therapy pre-Black Friday (it was way less crazy to shop on Wednesday) and even got some school stuff done.

Snow on campus to kick off Thanksgiving break.

Snow on campus to kick off Thanksgiving break.

I love the Mexican-inspired dishes at Native Foods!

I love the Mexican-inspired dishes at Native Foods!

Caught up on a few episodes of my new favorite show--The Newsroom.

Caught up on a few episodes of my new favorite show–The Newsroom.

Native Foods leftovers. Ensalada Azteca salad+sweet potato fries and some black beans, sauerkraut and pomegranate seeds.

Native Foods leftovers. Ensalada Azteca salad+sweet potato fries and some black beans, sauerkraut and pomegranate seeds.

I was feeling the navy blue on Black Friday. Cardigan: American Eagle. Strapless checked peplum top: Abercrombie & Fitch (hand-me-down from my younger sister). Dark wash jeggings: American Eagle. Necklace: American Eagle.

I was feeling the navy blue on Black Friday. Cardigan: American Eagle. Strapless checked peplum top: Abercrombie & Fitch (hand-me-down from my younger sister). Dark wash jeggings: American Eagle. Necklace: American Eagle.

Pumpkin nog banana softserve. Made with pumpkin puree+Califia Farms almond milk nog+frozen bananas and topped with cinnamon and pecans.

Pumpkin nog banana softserve. Made with pumpkin puree+Califia Farms almond milk nog+frozen bananas and topped with cinnamon and pecans.

Desert-like field near my house.

Desert-like field near my house.

Thanksgiving snack plate in lieu of lunch. Date+romaine wraps, sweet potato chips, olives, homemade guac, Skinny Crisps.

Thanksgiving snack plate in lieu of lunch. Date+romaine wraps, sweet potato chips, olives, homemade guac, Skinny Crisps.

The cutest car ever, spotted on a walk through the neighborhood.

The cutest car ever, spotted on a walk through the neighborhood.

Parnsip mash, with olive oil, sea salt and garlic.

Parnsip mash, with olive oil, sea salt and garlic.

Maple orange shredded brussels sprout salad.

Maple orange shredded brussels sprout salad.

Sweet potato fritters coated in pumpkin seeds+pistachios.

Sweet potato fritters coated in pumpkin seeds+pistachios.

Raw caramel pecan pie topped with cacao sauce and more pecans and raisins.

Raw caramel pecan pie topped with cacao sauce and more pecans and raisins.

I have some exciting (well, for me) plans for my time post-Thanksgiving. It might seem a little clichΓ© to be hyperfocused on clean eating after the holidays, but that isn’t what I’m intending my plan to be about. I’m going to be avoiding all added sugars for the next two to three weeks and trying to get back to eating more whole foods. I generally do pretty well with this, but I also sometimes buy some cleaner packaged foods that happen to have added sugars. Things like store-bought buckwheat rawnola or the Larabars with chocolate chips aren’t necessarily unhealthy, but all those added sugars do add up, and I know I feel my best when eating foods without added sugars. So what will I be eating the next few weeks? I’m not going to be drastically changing anything, just focusing more on fruits, veggies, nuts and nut butters (with nothing added), beans and lentils and some raw stevia-sweetened protein powder. I will not be avoiding stevia during this mini-challenge because I feel like it’s a healthier alternative to sugar and I don’t tend to go overboard with it, so it’ll be nice to still allow it in my diet in things like stevia chocolate chips, black coffee and homemade desserts. I don’t think this challenge is coming from a disordered place–I just want to be more mindful of what I’m eating because added sugars are in EVERYTHING, and even the sweeteners I feel comfortable with (maple syrup, coconut sugar and raw honey) are much better in small amounts. So hopefully this challenge will help me realize that I can live without added sugars in my life. And I will definitely keep you all up to date on how this goes for me!

Do you ever feel sad when the holidays are over? How do you feel about post-holiday eating plans?

16 thoughts on “Post-Thanksgiving (No) Blues

  1. Ash you eat SO clean and WHOLE as it is! I know you said this ‘challenge’ isn’t coming from a disordered place, but definitely think about it a little more! There doesn’t seem to be any reason for you to restrict added sugars! You deserve to have variety and some ‘fun’ foods in your life! Cut yourself some slack and rethink whether avoiding or restricting a certain type of food would be good for your mentally. Not judging you or anything like that! Sometimes it’s just good to get an outsiders perspective on our plans! πŸ™‚

    I’m glad your holiday was good! It looks like you made a lot of really yummy vegan dishes!

    • I’m glad you commented on this because it gave me a different view on the issue! I didn’t want my plan to be restrictive by any means, so I’ll be more flexible with it and allow myself to eat something if I’m craving it. I just meant for this to be kind of a fun challenge to break out of the rut of the same foods, but hopefully not disordered or restricting at all!

  2. You eat so clean. And it looks like you had a really fun break. I can’t believe it’s back to classes. That went by too fast.

  3. Your fritters came out looking good! You got skills.

    I read Kaila’s comment and though I initially wasn’t really thinking much about your sugar cleanse I have to say I agree with her and I am so glad she commented because as she said the outside perspectives can sometimes be the “Pshh,…Child Please! Get over it and eat yo-self some Larabars” we need in life,

    My friend Joss is that person for me, but also comments on blogs too.

    • β€œPshh,…Child Please! Get over it and eat yo-self some Larabars” we need in life” —> I definitely need more of this in my life! It can be so hard to see what’s healthy and what’s not in our very disordered and distorted culture so it’s refreshing to get that healthier perspective when we’re considering doing something that may not be so great for us.

      • I love what Missy said!! I totally agree! We need room for fun, spontaneity, and carefree food in our life! Enjoy your larabars girlie! Don’t need to eliminate things that you enjoy and ARE REALLY HEALTHY anyways! Most people would probably reach for larabars if they were trying to cut back on sugar! LOL

  4. P says:

    I totally get that post-happy event blues too! Whenever something good/fun/happy happens, and then it’s over and back to regularly scheduled activities, it can be a huge let down! And that pink beetle you spotted looks too cute!

    • I know! I used to be more upset about fun things ending when I was younger, but I’m trying harder to go with the flow and accepting that good things do come to an end but that doesn’t mean we have to be sad about it because there’s always something else good coming up!

  5. I have to agree with Kaila on this one.
    I totally understand where you’re coming from and I don’t think you’re intending to restrict at all but just be really careful. Eating “clean” and “whole” foods is obviously a really good thing- unfortunately, it can manifest into an obsession really quickly. Just focus on enjoying life and being happy. Surround yourself with friends and family, go out and do things that you love, etc. Eat what you’re craving and don’t overthink it- the rest will take care of itself!

    I don’t want this comment to sound negative in any way…we all just care about you and want to see the happiest, most-free Ashley possible!

    • I love that last statement you made about not overthinking food! I tend to do this a lot, and while I’ve gotten better with it, I’m always second-guessing my choices, especially if I compare myself to others around me. But we’re all SO individual, and we need to do what works for our body at a certain point in time.

  6. I’m glad that you got productive feedback on this post! All I’ll say is just make sure you stay aware because any decision to eliminate X or Y food from a diet, for someone with an ED history, can become something bigger!
    Also, that shredded Brussels salad needs to be in my life.

Comments are closed.