What I’m Making this Thanksgiving (Vegan and GF)

Thanksgiving is a weird holiday for vegans, vegetarians and a lot of other people with food restrictions. The day is alllllll about the food (and family, and being thankful of course) so it can make things awkward if you can’t or don’t want to partake in the usual T-day fare.

This year will be my third as a vegan (well, 2 years ago I wasn’t quite vegan but my Thanksgiving was) and I’ve come a long way since then in terms of meal planning and finding healthier options. I am not a fan of the fake turkey and other meat options, so I’ll be making plenty of vegan and gluten free side dishes for me and my family to enjoy this year. All the recipes I’m planning on making are very friendly to almost any diet–vegan, gluten free and even paleo people can get in on these recipes and enjoy the holiday without having to compromise their health or moral standards. Note: I plan on making some changes to each of these recipes but feel free to check out the original!

Pumpkin & Pistachio Sweet Potato Fritters via Happy.Healthy.Life. (vegan, gluten free, grain free)

Photo from Whole Foods.

Photo by Whole Foods Market.

Sweet potatoes are possibly my favorite food ever, and paired with pistachios/pumpkin seeds and sauteed in coconut oil is even better. The simple ingredient list is a winner, and I plan on pairing these with some kind of PB and maple sauce.

Maple and Date Brussels Salad via Hummusapien (vegan, gluten free, grain free)

Photo courtesy of A Little Saffron.

Photo courtesy of A Little Saffron.

Another Thanksgiving-perfect side dish. What’s not to love about Brussels sprouts shredded to make a salad, then tossed with some dates and maple syrup?

Garlicky Parsnip Mash (vegan, gluten free, grain free, sugar free) via Affairs of Living

 

Photo by Whole Foods Market.

Photo by Whole Foods Market.

I’ve never been a fan of greasy, glue-y mashed potatoes but if you want the tradition factor without all the unhealthy ingredients, look no further than these white potato imposters! Rich in fiber, potassium and vitamin C, parsnips perfectly imitate fluffy potatoes when blended with a few, whole foods ingredients. If you want a cheesy flavor, toss in some nutritional yeast.

Chia Caramel Pecan Pie via This Rawsome Vegan Life (vegan, raw, gluten free, grain free)

Photo courtesy of This Rawsome Vegan Life.

Photo courtesy of This Rawsome Vegan Life.

I love all the recipes I’ve tried from this blog, like I’m literally obsessed. I’ve been wanting to make a raw pecan pie for awhile and Emily from This Rawsome Vegan Life has the perfect, totally decadent, Thanksgiving-dessert worthy option for one. Featuring dates, nuts and chia seeds, this pie is the perfect mix of indulgent and healthy.

What are you making for Thanksgiving?

8 thoughts on “What I’m Making this Thanksgiving (Vegan and GF)

  1. P says:

    Those sweet potato fritters look SO GOOD! I’m actually looking forward to making some biscuits with some gravy with Boca in it. Even though we bought pumpkin pie from the store already, we might actually try something new and have a sweet potato pie as well 🙂

  2. That all looks so good. I’ll have to come back to this post when I make Christmas dinner. I’m going to my aunt and uncle’s this year like we always do, and then I have to have another thanksgiving with the in-laws the next day, which I’m not particularly looking forward to, but it sounds like I’ll be stuck having green beans all night. Maybe some of the black olives they put out as appetizers. My Thanksgiving sounds lame now…

    • You should definitely give some of these a try for Christmas–they’re pretty seasonally appropriate for the holidays, but I think they’d be good any time of year.

  3. I was planning to make that maple & date brussels salad too! It sounds delicious. And those fritters look amazing- I may have to add them to my list as well!
    I spent two Thanksgivings as a vegan and, since my family is all vegetarian, always had a zillion different options. I was lucky in that regard! It’s really fun to try out new recipes every year though- I made a vegan carrot cake last year that was to die for!

Comments are closed.