WIAW: Monday’s Meals

Now that you’ve seen my meal prep, let’s see what I’ve done with all that food! These are all my meals from Monday, minus an afternoon snack of a pink lady apple and some homemade raw bites that I forgot to take a picture of because I ate them in my night class.

Let me start this post by talking a little more about Instagram. I know I’ve ranted about it in the past, but for me, it’s something I easily get sucked into even if I’m trying not to let it dictate my choices. A lot of the users I follow are raw vegans–even though the lifestyle is a little extreme (I don’t think all fats are bad, and I would like to try being more raw but not necessarily super low fat like most raw vegans), I find their viewpoint on food to be refreshing. They aren’t afraid of the carbs or sugar in fruit, and promote flexibility within the diet, but overall they’re committed to real, whole foods. So those users are positive influences on me. But then there are other users, who I stumble upon from the comments section of another user I follow, and I’m kinda pissed at what these people post. Every other picture is a Quest bar, and some even talk about how they don’t eat fruit after 2 pm because they don’t want the sugar in it to turn to fat. Disordered much? It just makes me so mad, and makes me question my own diet. Seriously, though, fruit is NOT bad and you shouldn’t feel afraid to eat it in the afternoon. And don’t preach ‘clean eating’ and ‘whole foods’ when all you eat is Quest bars and Walden Farms syrup. End rant.

Breakfast: frozen banana blended with romaine lettuce+Garden of Life raw protein powder for banana softserve, side of trail mix made with pumpkin seeds, homemade coconut bacon and raisins.

Breakfast: frozen banana blended with romaine lettuce+Garden of Life raw protein powder for banana softserve, side of trail mix made with pumpkin seeds, homemade coconut bacon and raisins.

Not an unusual breakfast for me. Actually, any breakfast not involving banana softserve is unusual. Yes, I still enjoy my cold breakfasts even into the winter. I just turn up the heat πŸ˜‰

Lunch: random mix of kelp noodles, black beans, cauliflower, kraut and homemade spicy pumpkin sauce. Side of ataulfo mango and leftover homemade hannah yam fries.

Lunch: random mix of kelp noodles, black beans, cauliflower, kraut and homemade spicy pumpkin sauce. Side of ataulfo mango and leftover homemade hannah yam fries.

I love my lunches on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays because I can come home to my apartment and whip up something that I don’t have to scarf down in between classes or make the night before to take on campus. So I can have leisurely lunches like this random one above. Seriously, it sounds like a gross combo but somehow it all tasted good together.

Monday's outfit: black blazer (Charlotte Russe), black/pink patterned dress (Target), black tights (Target), black heeled suede booties (Target).

Monday’s outfit: black blazer (Charlotte Russe), black/pink patterned dress (Target), black tights (Target), black heeled suede booties (Target).

Monday’s outfit, brought to you by Target. But really, like most of this outfit came from Target. I honestly don’t buy clothes from there that much, but I love their cheap (and colorful) tights collection and adorable shoes. My mom happened to buy the dress for me, mostly to wear to work, but I love it as a dressier outfit for school too. I’m obsessed with the boots+tights+dress combo. I need more winter-appropriate dresses. The shoes were new, on clearance, and super cute but not the best for wearing on campus. I only had two classes on Monday, and I walked about 10 minutes from my car to class each way, but these were killing my feet. I just need to get better about walking in heels.

Dinner: salad of romaine lettuce, leftover Thai sweet potato veggie burger crumbles, raisins, pumpkin seeds, kraut and more homemade spicy pumpkin sauce.

Dinner: salad of romaine lettuce, leftover Thai sweet potato veggie burger crumbles, raisins, pumpkin seeds, kraut and more homemade spicy pumpkin sauce.

I’ve been on a roll with the random meals lately. Why do the most random combos always taste the best? I hate it because I can never remember exactly what was in the mix, so I can’t recreate it 100%. Like the pumpkin sauce in lunch and dinner. I remember pumpkin puree, almond milk, nooch, sea salt and some spices going into it. Maybe some sunflower butter too. It was so rich and creamy and just yum though. And it worked perfectly with the veggie burger crumbles and other toppings in this salad.

Dessert: successful take on the mug cake. Almond flour+coconut flour+stevia+a little baking soda+almond milk+stevia chocolate chips.

Dessert: successful take on the mug cake. Almond flour+coconut flour+stevia+a little baking soda+almond milk+stevia chocolate chips.

I’ve been seeing a lot of mug cake creations around lately and I wanted to make one again. I’ve whipped up a few in the past and they’ve always been an easy dessert option. This version was my attempt at a cookie cake. It was lighter and fluffier than a traditional cookie cake, and no where near as sweet (just sweetened with stevia) but still incredible. And definitely a more realistic dessert option for this baking-averse girl.

What’s the most random but delicious combo you’ve come up with? How do you feel about the ‘no fruit after 2 pm’ thing (or Instagram disordered eating in general)?

7 thoughts on “WIAW: Monday’s Meals

  1. Ugh, ok the 2pm thing. I love Cassey Ho and her Blogilates workouts, but she put up a video lately that was like “the top 5 ways to lose weight” and it was either 2 or 3 that she said no fruit after 2pm because the sugars and carbs in fruit will just turn into fat. Um, no it will not. Your body knows what fruit is. It knows the difference between natural sugar like from fruit and processed sugar because they have different chemical binds and stuff. It’s not going to turn into fat. Guess what? Your diet should consist of about 50% carbs because you need carbs to function. That’s the body’s main source of energy. Fruit is good for you no matter what time of day you eat it at. That’s not a healthy lifestyle change!! *end rant…maybe*

    Tuesdays and Thursday are my busy days, too, so I have to whip up some quick lunch and it makes me sad. I really wish I had a Target in my town! (we seriously have nothing) the closest one is about 45 minutes away. You look so cute.

    • I think there have been way too many blog posts/Instagrams/whatever lately that are talking about how fruit is bad after a certain time and it all just goes against common nutritional knowledge. I wish people wouldn’t post this stuff without doing their research first, because it’s annoying and it’s potentially harmful to people struggling with disordered eating. Seriously though, rant away because I feel the same way.

      • I don’t think anyone should give nutritional advice like that without having some kind of certification that goes over nutrition. I’m not a nutritionist, and I do plan on pursuing a further certification in nutrition after getting my personal training cert, but that one had an entire section on nutrition. So I know the basics, but you won’t see me telling people not to eat fruit after 2pm because that’s insane.

  2. I call the “random mix” meals “food in a bowl”
    and those are always the best.
    In fact that is what I am having for lunch today –= food in a bowl.

    Food in a bowl is better than a plate sometimes.

  3. YAY! I’m so glad you incorporated some fashion in this post. Love it!

    As far as the instagram thing…I totally understand where you’re coming from. It can be really frustrating. What I’ve come to realize though (from social media and living in LA) is that everyone is going to have a different opinion about what’s “healthy”. Those opinions might change over time and we might strongly disagree with them but that’s why they’re opinions and not facts. I think it’s important to just keep doing what makes you feel good, take inspiration from where you can, and ignore the rest. (:

    xoxo

    • Thanks girlie! I always appreciate your words of wisdom. Life is too short to fret over other people’s opinions, and it’s okay to do what works for you and not worry about what works or doesn’t work for someone else!

Comments are closed.