What’s in My Kitchen?

I don’t know about you, but I’m one of those people who LOVES grocery/fridge/pantry type posts. I like seeing what other people stock up on to give me good ideas and just because I love how differently everyone eats. It’s cool to see that diversity, plus I like to inspire other people to eat more plant-based, so here’s my take on the ‘what’s in my kitchen’ type post!

produce 9-27

Produce

This is a biggie in my weekly grocery budget. I think fresh produce should be the basis of everyone’s diet, and I definitely spend a big chunk of my money on it, but it’s worth it for the amazing taste and the health benefits. However, I’m not one of those people who buys the same fruits and veggies week after week–there are a few things I buy nearly weekly, but I like to switch it up based on what’s in season and what’s on sale. Here’s some of what I’ve been buying lately.

  • bananas, organic or conventional (I buy these as ripe as possible so I can use them right away)
  • lemons and limes
  • berries (Sprouts has some great deals on organic berries, and I try to always buy these organic)
  • figs (a personal favorite)
  • watermelon, depending on availability (I only buy in summer/early fall)
  • frozen fruit, organic (I like cherries frozen better than fresh!)
  • grapes, organic
  • plantains
  • mangoes and pineapple, if on sale
  • avocados, organic or conventional depending on price
  • hot peppers (Hatch chiles, jalapenos, etc.)
  • romaine lettuce, organic
  • baby spinach, organic
  • sweet potatoes or yams, organic
  • celery, organic
  • red cabbage
  • full size carrots, organic

groceries 9-27

Pantry/Fridge Staples

These tend to be things that last a week or longer, so even if they’re a little pricey, they’re worth the price in the long run since I won’t have to restock for awhile. Again, these aren’t weekly buys, and I often switch up brands/flavors of these things depending on what I’m in the mood for or what’s on sale that week.

  • almond or flax milk (I like Good Karma with protein unsweetened flax milk, 365 brand unsweetened vanilla almond milk, Califia Farms toasted coconut unsweetened almond milk)
  • coconut water
  • almond meal, from bulk bins
  • raw cashews, from bulk bins
  • dates and dried figs, from bulk bins
  • raisins, organic
  • hemp seeds, from bulk bins
  • dark chocolate (I’m really loving Fearless chocolate because it’s mostly raw and has simple ingredients)
  • canned no-salt beans (365 organic brand)
  • Whole Foods bread and butter pickles (made in store!)
  • sauerkraut or kimchi
  • raw buckwheat groats, wild rice, quinoa (pre-rinsed)
  • sprouted corn tortillas (Food for Life brand)
  • olives (from Whole Foods olive bar)
  • Living Intentions raw nuts (I love most of their varieties)
  • nutritional yeast, from bulk bins
  • applesauce, unsweetened
  • peanut butter and coconut butter (just the nut, nothing else added)
  • kelp noodles
  • coconut flour and buckwheat flour
  • Larabars (yes, these are a must have and I go through 4-6 bars per week on average!)

Specialty

These are things I don’t buy every week–I usually get them if they’re on sale or I’m really wanting them or need them for a recipe or something.

  • Hail Merry raw tarts (the BEST vegan dessert–and pretty clean, too) and macaroons
  • protein powder (my favorite right now is Garden of Life RAW Meal in Marley Coffee–a Whole Foods exclusive flavor–and I also like Sunwarrior and RawFusion)
  • popcorn (no salt, no oil from Whole Foods)
  • One Degree Organics cereal (I like that these are GF and made from sprouted grains and coconut sugar)
  • dark chocolate chips (Enjoy Life mini chips)
  • sweet potato tortilla chips (Way Better Snacks)
  • raw local honey or maple syrup (from bulk area so it’s cheaper!)
  • spices (pink sea salt, garlic-and-herb-no-salt blend, curry powder, cayenne pepper, garlic gomasio)

If I had to define how I eat, this is what I would say: I eat 99% plant based (other than raw honey), mostly gluten free (I only eat gluten if I go out to eat and I really want something, like a vegan pizza, and I know it won’t really bother me–I’m not celiac, but I feel better without gluten), grain free a lot of the time (I usually only eat psuedograins like buckwheat or quinoa if I eat them at all–probably 2 times per week at the most), produce lover (especially fruit!), tries to eat organic as much as possible, mostly a whole foods eater who still likes cleaner packaged foods, maybe 50% raw foodie and total sweet tooth that I try to tame with stevia, maple syrup, raw honey and coconut sugar. Honestly, I’m feeling better about the way I eat now than I ever have before, and it’s so freeing to be able to enjoy Larabars regularly without feeling guilty because they have so many calories, and to be able to eat intuitively and enjoy my healthy homemade meals 90% of the time as well as eating out and truly loving it. I know that to a lot of people, being vegan, gluten free and mostly grain free might seem restrictive, but it’s what makes me feel my best right now, and I don’t think it’s restrictive at all! For example, my family came up to visit me this weekend and we went out to eat at this awesome, hipster-type restaurant where I got a pizza on gluten free crust with kale, dried figs, mushrooms, garlic and olive oil (and ate 4/6 of it) and then had a gluten free vegan pumpkin cupcake (UNREAL!) without an ounce of guilt. There are still SO many things I can eat, and I’m not as strict with myself when going out to eat–as long as I stick to healthier vegan options, I feel amazing and not guilty at all! I’ve said before that I’d love to give a fully raw lifestyle a try, but I don’t think I could stick to it full time because there are some things I LOVE that I wouldn’t be able to eat on that diet, and honestly, those things are healthy too, just not 100% raw. I think it’s best to have an 80/20 or 90/10 mindset when it comes to eating–eat clean 80-90% of the time, enjoy whatever else you love the other 10-20% of the time and just don’t be so obsessed about food. Food is fun, and tasty, but it isn’t the be-all, end-all. Enjoy it, and move on!

What’s in YOUR kitchen right now? How would you define your eating style? 

7 thoughts on “What’s in My Kitchen?

  1. Always gotta have an insane amount of bananas! My kitchen is pretty bare atm. Classes and the hubby starting a new play makes it hard to figure out meals, so we just have the bare minimum. Bread, milk, stuff like that.

  2. I’m happy to hear that you’re figuring out an eating style that works for you- that’s the most important. No matter what anyone says or thinks, it’s YOUR life.
    You have one well-stocked kitchen, girly! I’m jealous. I used to be really good about stocking up every week but, with my schedule, it’s hard to know what I’ll have time to eat before it goes bad. I’m definitely trying to get better about meal-planning and prepping stuff ahead of time though!

    • Exactly, glad someone else sees my eating style the same way I do! The same things don’t work for everyone, but it’s so nice to finally have found a way that works for me right now.

      I wish my kitchen was this stocked all the time! But by the end of the week, I’m scraping together meals–that’s when I know it’s time to go to the store. And it can be hard to stay on top of meal prep and planning, and I don’t always pull it off, but it makes things SO much easier when I do.

  3. P says:

    I love reading food reviews/grocery posts on other blogs, just as much as I like writing them myself. I am excitied at the prospect of living on my own and doing my own grocery shopping. I do want to try the getting only what I need every day/two days approach first, and just stock up on staples, and see how that works out for me 😀

    • I really like the idea of the shopping for one or two days approach! I love to grocery shop, but I wish I had more time to do it, so I could buy just the things I need each day instead of making one or two bigger hauls each week.

Comments are closed.