WIAW: New and Old

I’ve said it before, but I love trying new things. Sometimes too much, to the point that I shell out plenty of money for an interesting looking product, and while it usually turns out at least somewhat decent, sometimes it’s just too bad to eat. Like Incan berries, way too sour and bitter and hard…never again. But usually, trying new combinations turns out to be a successful experiment, and sometimes I even find new favorites. But you can’t deny the appeal of old favorites–they almost never disappoint!

Smoothie in a bowl for lunch. Spinach+peanut flour+chocolate Sunwarrior+1/4 avocado+shredded coconut+cacao nibs.

Smoothie in a bowl for lunch. Spinach+peanut flour+chocolate Sunwarrior+banana+1/4 avocado+shredded coconut+cacao nibs.

I’ve had green smoothies before, but never with avocado. I’ve heard how creamy smoothies get with added avocado so I figured I’d give it a try. I only used a little bit to make sure it didn’t taste too avocado-y and it was a great addition.

Grande unsweetened passion iced tea.

Grande unsweetened passion iced tea.

One of my favorite summer Starbucks ordered. My only complaint is that Starbucks doesn’t have stevia, but I usually just remember to bring my own.

Dinner: socca topped with homemade spicy guacamole and raw kimchi and southwestern kale chips, side of watermelon

Dinner: socca topped with homemade spicy guacamole and raw kimchi and southwestern kale chips, side of watermelon

Socca is a staple of mine, but I’ve usually eaten it in pizza or ‘omelette’ form. One night I was wanting guac but I didn’t have any corn tortillas so I decided to use socca as a protein-packed tortilla sub, and topped it with kimchi and kale chips too. Really random, but it was good enough to repeat a few days later.

Summery outfit. Dark grey crop top: American Eagle. Coral shorts: Hollister.

Summery outfit. Dark grey crop top: American Eagle. Coral shorts: Hollister.

It’s definitely been shorts weather around here. We don’t have A/C so my room is unbearable most days (it doesn’t help that it’s south-facing and upstairs) so even this outfit felt way too hot. But it’s perfect sunbathing weather.

New find in the frozen section at Whole Foods! GF and vegan chocolate chip walnut cookie.

New find in the frozen section at Whole Foods! GF and vegan chocolate chip walnut cookie.

I used to get the bakery-made vegan cookies from Whole Foods sometimes, but they were wheat-based and often gave me stomach issues. I was thrilled to find an option that was both gluten free AND vegan (harder to find than you’d think) and that is fairly clean and tastes delicious. The addition of almond extract really takes it over the top, and the texture is fantastic for being almond flour based.

Raw powerbowl. Chocolate sunwarrior 'pudding' topped with homemade cinnamon buckwheat rawnola, strawberries, cacao nibs, 1/2 banana bread Uber Larabar, coconut butter.

Raw powerbowl. Chocolate sunwarrior ‘pudding’ topped with homemade cinnamon buckwheat rawnola, strawberries, cacao nibs, 1/2 banana bread Uber Larabar, coconut butter.

I’ve been loving meals in a bowl lately. This was a mostly raw dessert-like snack that I threw together from the few things I have for snacks. I really need to make a Whole Foods trip ASAP to stock up on raw stuff!

Whole Foods salad bar box. Again. Never gets old.

Whole Foods salad bar box. Again. Never gets old.

‘nough said, but really, this never gets old. Oh, and I really don’t get these thatΒ much (maybe once every other week or once a week) but I feel the need to post them every time because I love the Whole Foods salad bar a LOT.

A vegan and GF take on the BLT. Buckwheat & almond flour pancake 'bread', spinach, tofu 'bacon' and raw Caesar dressing.

A vegan and GF take on the BLT. Buckwheat & almond flour pancake ‘bread’, spinach, tofu ‘bacon’ and raw Caesar dressing.

This was a totally random, this-sounds-good-I’ll-just-throw-it-together kind of dinner, but it was a real winner. I marinated the tofu in coconut aminos+liquid smoke+a little maple syrup and quickly pan fried it in coconut oil. I mixed together buckwheat and almond flours with flax and salt and water to make quick pancake ‘bread’ slices and whipped together a raw Caesar-like dressing from soaked cashews, half a nori sheet, nooch and spices. It came together pretty quickly and was repeat worthy.

Dessert: peanut flour microwave muffin topped with Justin's vanilla AB, raspberries and 1/3 GF vegan chocolate chip walnut cookie.

Dessert: peanut flour microwave muffin topped with Justin’s vanilla AB, raspberries and 1/3 GF vegan chocolate chip walnut cookie.

Another meal in a bowl. Having fresh raspberries again makes everything so much better. And splurging on Justin’s vanilla almond butter (sooooo good!) is making me want to put it on everything. Kind of a problem when it costs $8, but I’m going to try to make it last longer than 2 weeks.

What are some of your new and old favorites?

21 thoughts on “WIAW: New and Old

  1. That smoothie looks delicious; I should try adding avocado to my green smoothies–I have also heard it makes them quite creamy. Do you use stevia a lot for sweetening food or drinks? I have tried it a couple times, but it has a rather odd aftertaste. Also, I have heard about some POSSIBLE negative side effects of stevia–not to scare you away from it, or anything. There is still a lot we don’t know about it, but I would think it is far safer than artificial sweeteners. That socca looks great as well; it definitely makes a good substitute for either corn tortillas or pizza crust. I am glad you were able to find a gluten free/vegan cookie at Whole Foods; it looks very tasty. It can definitely be difficult to find prepared baked goods that are both vegan and gluten-free, especially since it can be tricky to get the texture right. I love your variation on the BLT–it is so creative! Vanilla almond butter sounds amazing; perhaps I will see if I can find it on iHerb.com…But you’re right that it is expensive, definitely more so than peanut butter.

    • I bought my vanilla almond butter from iHerb, and it was a bit cheaper than I’ve seen it at Whole Foods, so it’s worth a splurge once in awhile!

      I have heard that stevia may have some negative effects, but like you said, it’s much safer than artificial sweeteners and I try to use it sparingly, maybe 3 packets per day, so hopefully it isn’t too harmful.

  2. I tend to be a little more reserved when it comes to trying new products lately, because I have a whole pantry full of things that I bought on a whim, didn’t end up liking too much, and now don’t know what to do with. But using avocado in smoothies? I can definitely vouch for that. And throwing random things in a bowl and hoping for the best is actually one of my favorite approaches to meals. I’ve really been wanting to try Justin’s AB, especially since I recently found out that they were making them in a peanut-free facility now. I think I’m going to have to pick some up the next time I’m in the States.

    • I think I was inspired to put an avocado in a smoothie from you–I remember all those smoothie pictures you had with an avocado in them and I used to think it was the weirdest thing but it’s actually so delicious!

      You should definitely give Justin’s a try! The brand is actually made in my state, so they’re available almost everywhere here, but I think it’s some of the creamiest almond butter and I can vouch for the vanilla flavor. It reminds me of frosting!

  3. I’ve never thought of using avocado in a smoothie before. That sounds really interesting. I want to try avocado ice cream some day. All your food looks so good!

  4. sarah says:

    Aren’t incan berries gross?!? I seriously gagged on them.

    All your meals are awesome.
    Have you tried the vegan coconut bacon that’s floating round the blog world at the moment? ( Elise@ the Hungry Hippie just did a recent post on it). I really want to try making it, and for some reason I thought you’d be interested in it too. It uses liquid smoke, which I can’t seem to find!
    Xxx

    • Are you reading my mind? Seriously, I was just thinking about that coconut bacon and I’ve been wanting to make it since I saw Elise post about it. It looks amazing! I’m not sure what stores you have near you, but I know that specialty health food stores stock liquid smoke, and maybe even regular stores.

  5. P says:

    I love the vegan/GF take on the BLT! Looks super yummy!
    I’ve spotted jars of kimchi at Whole Foods and have been wanting to try it forever. I’ve also been wanting to go to a Korean restaurant (preferably a place with plenty of veg. options, but I know that can be hard to come by…)

  6. I used to constantly spend money on new products but lately I’ve just stuck to things I know I love. With a busy schedule (and a pantry full of food that I still need to use up) I just don’t have the time to experiment! I love ordering new things when I go out to eat though.
    And since I’m working at Starbucks now I’m learning all the tips and tricks for drinks- order your Passion Tea with no water! They mix half passion tea and half water (or lemonade, if you order it that way) before adding ice. So, if you get rid of the water it has waaay more flavor! (:

Comments are closed.