WIAW: Almost Summer (Or Not)

It’s finally May! Can you believe it? This year has already flown by, and I’ll be packing up to go home for the summer in just about 2 weeks. I’m not sure if you’re as much of a weather nerd as I am (actually, pretty sure you’re not since I’m pretty obsessed, but hey, it is my job!) but if you’ve been keeping up with the national forecast, good old Colorado is getting yet another snowstorm today. Yep, May 1st. Snow isn’t totally unusual here, but since we’re supposed to get around 6 or more inches (writing this on Tuesday when it’s still raining, not snowing yet and hopefully won’t), that’s way more than normal. Can you believe we were at 80 degrees on Monday? This is just insane, and really not fair.

Anyways, I’ll stop my weather complaints and move on to better things…namely WIAW! This one will be fairly wordless other than captions, but full of recent food photos so enjoy!

Fully loaded kelp noodle stirfry: kelp noodles, peanut flour/curry/coconut aminos sauce, pineapple/mango, spinach, red cabbage, pan fried tofu, coconut flakes and sprouted pumpkin seeds.

Fully loaded kelp noodle stirfry: kelp noodles, peanut flour/curry/coconut aminos sauce, pineapple/mango, spinach, red cabbage, pan fried tofu, coconut flakes and sprouted pumpkin seeds.

Homemade blueberry infused, watermelon stevia sweetened water.

Homemade blueberry infused, watermelon stevia sweetened water.

Horestooth Reservoir and the mountains. One of the biggest lakes in Colorado is in my backyard. Nothing better than mountains+water!

Horestooth Reservoir and the mountains. One of the biggest lakes in Colorado is in my backyard. Nothing better than mountains+water!

'Guacachoc' PB protein mousse, aka avocado mousse. Recipe to come!

‘Guacachoc’ PB protein mousse, aka avocado mousse. Recipe to come!

More clean nachos! Sprouted sweet potato chips, red cabbage, homemade guac, sweet potato, black beans and sprouted pumpkin seeds.

More clean nachos! Sprouted sweet potato chips, red cabbage, homemade guac, sweet potato, black beans and sprouted pumpkin seeds.

Grain free protein pancakes. Mix of chocolate Sunwarrior and garbanzo flour. Topped with PB, homemade pumpkin grainless granola and dark chocolate chips.

Grain free protein pancakes. Mix of chocolate Sunwarrior and garbanzo flour. Topped with PB, homemade pumpkin grainless granola and dark chocolate chips.

Beautiful weekend weather in the 70s.

Beautiful weekend weather in the 70s.

Raw snackplate. Cacao nib Cocoroon, organic strawberries, southwestern ranch kale chips, orange rosemary pecans, Thai lemon curry cashews, currant flacker with homemade blueberry vanilla chia jam.

Raw snackplate. Cacao nib macaroon, organic strawberries, southwestern ranch kale chips, orange rosemary pecans, Thai lemon curry cashews, currant flacker with homemade blueberry vanilla chia jam.

Green-ish grass and sunny skies.

Green-ish grass and sunny skies (and my Alejandro behind the power box).

Socca-style taco filled with raw red cabbage, black beans, sweet potato, homemade guac and sprouted pumpkin seeds.

Socca-style taco filled with raw red cabbage, black beans, sweet potato, homemade guac and sprouted pumpkin seeds.

Is is almost summer where you are (school wise, or weather wise)? What’s the best thing you ate this weekend?

19 thoughts on “WIAW: Almost Summer (Or Not)

  1. Maya says:

    Hey sweetie, your meals look great- a little small though! I just wanted to nicely say that your gorgeous but should ease up on yourself a bit. You might find you have even more energy when you eat a little more and I know the paleo thing scared you off grains but believe me- they will not make you fat AT ALL! I eat lots of grains all the time (lots of white pasta and pizza too) and I am very very slim. I really hope you can let go of some of these fears as being a semi vegan paleo Is completely ridiculous- and not really healthy. I really think your a lovely girl I hope you allow yourself the joys you deserve and just have fun instead of worrying- just live- peace Maya

    • Awww thank you for your concern! It’s actually very reassuring to hear that you eat and enjoy grains without issues and I really want to get back to a place where I feel more comfortable eating the things I used to enjoy, still healthy but not so strict. And I agree with you that this might improve my energy levels and overall health.

  2. I can more than sympathize with your ridiculous weather woes – we’re going through the same exact thing up here in Alberta. Woof. It was snowing on and off for about two days, but it SEEMS to be warming up now. I’m really hoping that was the last of it, but it seems like every time I say that, it just ends up snowing some more…

  3. We have evil weather down here. It has been hot as heck, but we are randomly having a cold front come in tonight. Weird. I definitely need to make some infused water. That sounds delicious. I have quit drinking diet soda recently, so I’m trying to find other things to drink to curb my cravings.

  4. Wow, that’s some seriously wonky weather you’re having up there. First it was me envying the warmer temperatures you had and now I wish I could send you some of our sun. Sure, Spring hasn’t fully decided to stay around here yet, either. But at least there won’t be any snow anymore. Also, I think it’s pretty awesome you’re a weather geek – nothing better than truly enjoying what you want to work as!
    Hope you’re having a great day despite the weather!

    • No more snow is always a plus…hopefully you’ll be getting more springlike weather soon! Spring and summer are my favorite seasons because they’re so sunny and warm, at least usually.

  5. i like the sound of garbanzoflour pancakes – will have to give that a try!
    We are just going into Winter 😦 yuck – i hate the cold 😦

  6. Sending lots of warm thoughts and wishes for sunshine your way! The springtime weather will be there before you know it. (:
    And everything looks delicious! I hope you’re still considering adding more grains back into your diet- I think you’ll be amazed by how much more energy you have! ❤

  7. Ava says:

    I feel a bit sad, you are underweight and just from what you present on here eat in an very over clean mind-frame. I know we do not see the whole picture but- You need to really have a hard look at some of your meals and actually decide you want to change them and then do it girl! I know you can! And I found I was healthiest on just the normal breads pasta and white pizza or rice to give me extra energy if that helps you at all

    • Thanks for your concern and advice! I honestly do want to feel more comfortable eating grains and I’m starting to work towards that. It’s hard for me to admit that I’m underweight as I’ve rarely seen myself that way, but how other people view me is very important as I know I have a distorted view of myself and my body and eating habits. They’ve all become normalized to me over the years but I know deep down that they may not be.

Comments are closed.