College Vegan on a Budget: 2 Weeks & Counting

One clean-eating college girl’s goal to save as much money as possible at Whole Foods and beyond.

Well folks, there’s just over two weeks left until I’m officially done with my junior year of college (it’s also just under 3 months til I’m 21, but who’s counting 😉 ). It actually feels so weird to be saying that–I feel like I was just in 5th grade. It’s crazy to think that a year (or less) from now, I could be at my first big-girl job. Wow.

Like I mentioned in my last CVB post, this little series will be taking a hiatus over the summer as I transition back into life at home with my family. Obviously I’m looking forward to that, and also to be taking a break from budgeting! I’ve learned a lot, but I’m ready to have my parent’s financial support again for a few months. Considering that I may be living completely on my own in a year, it’ll be nice to rely on my parents for a little while to save up money for that!

I went to both Sprouts and Whole Foods this weekend, but I’ll only be listing and photographing my Whole Foods buys here, as I feel like I’ve come a long way with my budgeting skills there. Not too long ago, I was spending at least $80 there per week, sometimes upwards of $100. Yikes. Lately, I’ve been reigning in my impulse purchases, and it’s helped me stay below $60 almost every week there. I even spent under $40 there the other week…and who says it’s called Whole Paycheck? You really can shop there on a budget (maybe not a super-tight one), you just have to watch what you’re buying. I even buy more expensive things there sometimes, and still come in below $60.

Whole Foods produce

Whole Foods produce

*=organic

Whole Foods

What I Got: baby spinach*, lemons x2, romaine lettuce*, Ataulfo mangos x3, strawberries*, watermelon, bulk section almond flour, bulk section coconut flakes, bulk section raw cashew pieces, grind-your-own raw cashew butter, coconut aminos*, Thai curry cashew mix*, Vega One bar, Vega vanilla chai protein powder sample pack, Theo dark chocolate orange bar*, Tessemae’s paleo BBQ sauce (on sale, and the only BBQ sauce I know sweetened only with dates), Skinny Crisps cinnamon (like grain free graham crackers!)

What I Spent: $58.48

Verdict: I bought a LOT of produce this week (most of it organic) and it still didn’t eat up my budget! As I’ve said before, produce is typically about 1/3 of my budget per store and trying to stick with the Dirty Dozen/Clean 15 guidelines can help me save money and decide what really needs to be bought organic when I have the choice. Buying from the bulk section in only the amount I need saves me a lot (for instance, I bought 1/3 a pound of almond flour for only $1.88!) and looking for deals helps when I make impulse buys. I like the Tessemae line of dressings, and when I saw their new BBQ flavor was on sale for about half the usual price, I had to try it, especially because I’ve been looking for a clean BBQ sauce. Some things, like the coconut aminos, cost a lot upfront (at least more than traditional soy sauce or even tamari/Bragg’s) but the quality ingredients and taste are worth it to me, and it lasts me a few months too. Basically, I try to make tradeoffs and figure out what the ‘real’ cost of an item is (good ingredients, how long it’ll last, etc.)

Other Whole Foods buys.

Other Whole Foods buys.

Are better ingredients/nutritional benefits worth it to you over low cost? How much does the organic label matter to you?

10 thoughts on “College Vegan on a Budget: 2 Weeks & Counting

  1. OMG that is sooo exciting you are almost 21! My birthday was a lot of fun that year. Although I love birthdays, so every year I always try to top the one before that. It is exciting to be almost done with school. I have finals this week and then I’m graduating from college. I am like on cloud 9 right now, so its super hard to get work done!

    I feel like 58$ at whole foods is a pretty good deal. Sometimes I leave there spending so much money and I’m like whaaaat? I just love their fresh produce and wonderful products. I’m switching to a completely clean diet, so I just spent a ton of money buying groceries. I think of it as treating my body as a temple is worth spending money on.

    • Don’t feel bad about spending a lot on groceries, I know I’ve done that in the past when I was changing my diet and had to restock my pantry, and it was totally worth the money to put towards my health.

  2. YAY! You’re almost 21! I’m not going to lie, being 21 is super exciting. I’ve never been much into drinking (and I’m still not) but it’s nice to be able to go out to a bar with my friends or order a glass of wine when I’m craving it!
    And spending under $60 at Whole Foods is still a huuuge accomplishment in my opinion. That store can eat up my paycheck like no other…

  3. That is so awesome, I’m gonna miss these posts, but I totally get the parent thing. Wish I could do that a little longer.

  4. P says:

    Good job on your WF purchase! Looks like you came out with plenty of neat stuff. The BBQ sauce looks tasty.

  5. I definitely spend more money on healthy food now that I eat a healthier, vegetarian diet. To me, spending more money now for good health is worth it, as opposed to spending A LOT more money in the future for health issues.

Comments are closed.