Bread for All (Grain Free Flatbread)

I’m sure you’ve all heard of Paleo, it’s basically one of the biggest trends in the healthy living blog world at the moment. Obviously, it’s not for me as it completely eschews legumes (no black beans? no peanut flour?), soy (I love me some edamame and tofu/tempeh) or grains (I can go grain free most of the time but I still love buckwheat, quinoa and other GF whole grains). Basically, it’s a vegan’s worst nightmare. I’m not knocking paleo by any means, I’m just sayin’ that I could never handle all the meat and eggs the diet requires. I think it’s great that it promotes whole foods rather than the processed junk that a lot of Americans live off of but I think any kind of whole f00ds-based diet can be healthy and it’s all up to the individual to decide what works best for them.

Anyways, I’ve been doing a lot of experimenting with grain free vegan recipes. They’re actually really hard to come by, because grain free recipes generally work better with lots of eggs holding them together. However, I came across a recipe for grain free flatbread made with coconut flour and surprisingly, it was already vegan! I knew I had to try it out, so I made a few tweaks and it turned out amazingly well. It actually held together for the most part, even when I made eggplant muffulettas with it, and it tasted better after a day or so of sitting out. Plus, it only requires a handful of ingredients and is perfect for both paleo people and vegans and well, pretty much everyone!

Eggplant muffuletta (adapted from Veganomicon) on coconut flour grain free flatbread.

Eggplant muffuletta (adapted from Veganomicon) on coconut flour grain free flatbread.

Coconut Flour Flatbread (vegan, gluten free, grain free, no added sugar)

1/4 coconut flourΒ 

1 tbsp ground psyllium husk or psyllium powder (CANNOT substitute/omit)

1/2 tbsp coconut oil

3/4-1 cup boiling water

spices, to taste (can add garlic, salt and red pepper for savory bread or cinnamon, ginger and salt for sweet)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a medium bowl, whisk coconut flour, psyllium and spices. Add in coconut oil, and slowly pour in boiling water. Use just enough to make mixture thick and make sure there aren’t any dry spots. Spread mixture onto parchment paper lined cookie sheet and smooth out with back of a spoon or a spatula. Bake for 15-20 minutes, or until bread starts to become a little crumbly. Remove from oven and let cool. Makes 4 regular sized slices.Β 

I enjoyed this as the bread for my eggplant muffulettas (it soaked up the olive juices and tastes amazing) and as a flatbread to dip into an African peanut stew I made last weekend. It tastes even better a day or so after being made so be patient and let it sit πŸ˜‰

Have you ever had a grain free food that’s usually made with grains? What’s your favorite style of bread?

8 thoughts on “Bread for All (Grain Free Flatbread)

  1. I’ll have to try this. I could never do paleo either. I get some people like it and do it, but it’s not for me.

  2. Oh my goodness, I could NEVER follow a paleo diet.
    No carbs and lots of meat?! Not for this vegetarian, thank you very much.
    I’m definitely going to try this recipe! It’s so simple and sounds delicious. Thanks for sharing!

  3. sarah says:

    Ahh, I’ve been looking forward to this( I look forward to recipes from you ALWAYS)…you didn’t dissapoint :), I actually have all the ingredients.
    I’ve made quite a few grain-free bread recipes from blogs lately , and have been loving it!
    Your recipe will probably the most simplistic one I’ve tried so far: a bonus.

    Thankyou
    Xxx

Comments are closed.