WIAW: Almost Wordless Weekend

Yep, I’m back for another WIAW. This one isn’t focused on one day of eats, but mostly recaps my weekend and past week or so, almost wordless style. I wish I had better content for y’all but it is what it is–I’m super busy right now and I still want to blog!

Me and my sissy at the annual Father Daughter Dance.

Me and my sissy at the annual Father Daughter Dance.

Cheesin' solo at the dance.

Cheesin’ solo at the dance.

Pretty in pink.

Pretty in pink.

It’s a 9-year strong trend…our city’s annual Father Daughter dance. I’ve been going with my dad since the 7th grade and my little sister joined in a few years ago. It’s always an extremely enjoyable night, full of dancing, photos and bonding. And I also had an excuse to enjoy some Whole Foods salad bar goodies–yep, I’m ‘that’ girl who snuck in food to a catered event! #veganproblems

Lunch: green smoothie (vanilla u/s almond milk, spinach), green chia seed pudding made with Vega protein powder/coconut shreds/Justin's vanilla AB, frozen pineapple.

Lunch: green smoothie (vanilla u/s almond milk, spinach), green chia seed pudding made with Vega protein powder/coconut shreds/Justin’s vanilla AB, frozen pineapple.

Dessert for breakfast: chocolate PB chia pudding made with Vega chocolate protein powder and peanut flour, topped with coconut shreds, cacao nibs and Kit's Organic chocolate coconut bar.

Dessert for breakfast: chocolate PB chia pudding made with Vega chocolate protein powder, coconut flour and peanut flour, topped with coconut shreds, cacao nibs and Kit’s Organic chocolate coconut bar.

I can’t get enough of chia seed puddings now that I finally understand the secret to making them turn out thick. I eat them for breakfast, lunches and snacks because they’re so nutritious, well-balanced and great for toppings and different flavor combos. The combo above was particularly dessert-like but definitely not a splurge.

Kevita stevia-sweetened coconut probiotic drink.

Kevita stevia-sweetened coconut probiotic drink.

Breakfast for dinner: side of carrots, maple syrup for dippage, tirsmisu-inspired buckwheat-almond flour (GF) waffle topped with Sunwarrior protein frosting, coconut shreds and coconut whip.

Breakfast for dinner: side of carrots, maple syrup for dippage, tirsmisu-inspired buckwheat-almond flour (GF) waffle topped with Sunwarrior protein frosting, coconut shreds and coconut whip.

Raw vegan chocolate ganache for dessert.

Raw vegan chocolate ganache for dessert.

Obviously I have a love for all things coconut. Funny how scared I used to be of it–I used to claim I hated it to avoid its saturated fat content. Boy, was I wrong! It’s so delicious, and actually super healthy. The Kevita drink didn’t taste particularly like coconut, but I’m starting to really love their acidic taste and bubbly mouthfeel.

I accidentally made coconut whipped cream from light coconut that had been chilling in my fridge for a few weeks. Who knew? It was just as good as the full fat whip, and made for a great waffle topper.

And my newest obsession: (expensive) raw desserts from Whole Foods. Guys, I have a problem. I can’t stop drooling over these amazing desserts in the frozen aisle–they’re made from raw superfoods and taste so decadent. The only issue is the price, at least $3 per dessert, yikes. But since they’re so rich, I make them last a couple days despite their small size, so I guess it’s notΒ tooΒ expensive.

What were you up to this weekend? Do you like chia puddings or coconut?Β 

29 thoughts on “WIAW: Almost Wordless Weekend

  1. I love your dress. That is so cute that they do something like that. I have been meaning to make a chia pudding for months now and haven’t gotten around to it. I even have chia seeds back at my mom’s place. Spring break.

  2. lol i hate how much money I spend on health foods >< I love vega bars but they're like 3,50$ each! And yesterday I bought a 4$ kombucha (compared to 1$ for soda…..) and I bought a raw chocolate bar that was 5$ (compare once again to 1$ for milk chocolate) haha I hate loving heath foods πŸ˜‰

  3. You looked absolutely gorgeous in your coral-colored dress at the father-daughter dance! I love that tradition–so sweet!

    All your eats look delicious–especially the chocolate PB chia pudding. I think I could eat that for every meal of every day!

  4. It’s so sweet you’re having that Father Daughter Dance tradition with your dad! Is it organized by your college or the city officals?
    Too bad there was no vegan fare and you had to bring your own food. I always eat beforehand and try to find some stuff to eat at buffets because I’d be too self-concious to bring my own food :).

  5. You look gorgeous! What a fun treat to have a father-daughter dance tradition. My dad and I used to go to those when I was really little but haven’t in years.
    And that’s awesome that you brought your own food! I know how difficult it can be to find vegan-friendly fare at events like that.

  6. Your dress is so pretty, and that father daughter dance sounds like a lot of fun! I’m super close to my dad, so that kind of thing would be right up my alley. Chia seeds, however, I’m not the biggest fan of… I think it’s a texture thing and the fact tht they always get stuck in my teeth. I do love coconut though…. especially coconut butter πŸ™‚

  7. Your dress is super pretty! πŸ™‚ Now I really want to try one of those raw desserts from Whole Foods. They sound amazing! I have tried a vegan chocolate cupcake from WF and it was super rich but really really tasty. I love coconut! It’s funny how I used to hate it when I was younger, or maybe I just thought that I did. I used to hate nuts too. And now I eat nuts everyday. Chia seeds are great too, especially to thicken smoothies. I really need to make some homemade waffles because yours always look so delicious!

  8. Love the dress Ashley and you are looking stunning to say the least πŸ™‚ The father-daughter dance sounds lovely too.. I am close with my dad and i’m certain we would both enjoy doing something like that together. There was one in my town a few weeks back, so maybe next year we could join in!
    And yay for coconut stuff! I also used to shy away from it because of the saturated fat content but you are right, it is so very good for you! I went through a period of eating a whole lot of coconut butter and had noticeable changes in my hair and skin.. improvement!

Comments are closed.