Fashion Friday: White Hot

Before I get into the post, let me just say a big “Thank you!” to everyone who took the time to read and comment on my post on Tuesday. I really needed to hear your words of encouragement and tough love so thanks again. You all had some great points!

Ever heard the old fashion adage ‘never wear white after Labor Day’? It seems so old-fashioned, right? I mean, who doesn’t wear white in some form in the months between Labor Day and Memorial Day? And really, what’s so wrong with that? An article in Time even says that the practice is outdated–it’s rumored to have started because wearing white in the summer was a way to stay cool in the absence of A/C, and once summer was over, people returned to their jobs and more drab-colored clothing.  But today, it’s definitely acceptable to wear white year-round, even in the winter.

White isn’t one of my favorite colors (too boring) or even my favorite neutral (that would be dark grey or brown) but it’s a nice way to mix up a more colorful outfit. And you can definitely wear it in the winter, despite what people say. Sure, you might not want to go for white pants but that’s mostly because you don’t want to get them dirty trekking through the snow and slush. But accessories and pops of white are definitely fair game.

White rose ring: Forever 21.

White rose ring: Forever 21.

I love white accessories, they’re so clean and simple. This ring is a newer addition to my growing collection and it’s probably my new favorite. It was super cheap (like $3) but it’s stayed intact so far and it looks cute, especially with polished nails.

Easy fit white sweater: Abercrombie ; Fitch. Royal blue chiffon skirt: Abercrombie & Fitch.

Easy fit white sweater: Abercrombie ; Fitch. Royal blue chiffon skirt: Abercrombie & Fitch.

I do wear white in my outfits, mainly as sweaters. But I like wearing it with brighter pieces, like this royal blue skirt. White goes with literally everything, so you can’t go wrong. Just make sure the style of the white piece you’re wearing generally coordinates with the style of the colored piece.

White watch: American Eagle.

White watch: American Eagle.

This watch is an even newer purchase, and it was definitely worth the price (though it was cheap-ish too). I’ve always liked the look of white watches and when I stumbled upon this one, I knew I had to have it. I really like the pink accents and simplistic style of the watch.

Do you wear white in the winter? What’s your favorite kind of accessory? 

11 thoughts on “Fashion Friday: White Hot

  1. I love jewelry from Forever 21. It’s all so cute and cheap! I think the white after labor day thing is weird. When I was in middle school I had this while dress with red polka dots that made me look like a hospital volunteer, but I wore it to school one day and some kid yelled at me that you can’t wear white after labor day. I don’t think he even knew when labor day was but it was still annoying.

  2. I also think that wearing white after labor day deal is a really weird tradition. Some people here in the South actually take it seriously, which I think is a joke because it’s still crazy hot here even after Labor Day. Heck, it was crazy hot here a few days this week! I like the ring and think it’s A-OK for you to wear white, or whatever color you want, anytime!

      • Yeah, I guess it’s that we have some really traditional people down South. It’s not so bad near the coast, though, lots of people move here from other places, so the culture is a bit different here compared to some places inland. For the most part, you can kinda wear what ya want… hehe.

  3. P says:

    Now that I think about it, I do have a lot of white in my closet! I’m more careful when wearing them only because I don’t want to get them dirty.

  4. I like white, and the tradition of not wearing it after labor day seems kind of goofy to me. That being said, I don’t really wear much white at all. I think part of it is because I’m so pale that white doesn’t look all that great on me, and then it’s not the most practical because I’m constantly worried about it getting dirty.

Comments are closed.