What I’m Buying and What it’s For

So I know I just had a grocery shopping post the other day but this one isn’t so much about the budgeting (though I did stay under $60 for this weekend’s trips, which is a total win) as it is about what I bought and what it’s for. I love seeing people’s grocery shopping posts, especially if they’re sharing a meal plan or recipes to go along with that. So here’s what I bought this weekend, and what it’ll be used for.

Sprouts buys.

Sprouts buys.

Sprouts

What I Got

  • plantain: sauteeing in coconut oil for burrito filling
  • dates: stuffing with nut butter, some for recipes
  • unsweetened apple butter: healthier alternative to jam
  • almond flour: making grain free pancakes/waffles and using in homemade veggie burgers
  • raw cashews: cilantro cashew cream for burritos and raw jalapeno poppers (!)
  • jalapenos: raw jalapeno poppers
  • cilantro: cashew cream
  • baking soda: pantry staple
  • lite coconut milk: have on hand for quick curries, etc.
Whole Foods purchases.

Whole Foods purchases.

Whole Foods

What I Got

  • frozen gluten free pizza dough: making easy GF cinnamon rolls
  • unsweetened ketchup: dipping sweet potato fries, tempeh, etc.
  • organic unrefined virgin coconut oil: baking, sauteeing, moisturizer (P.S. buy the Whole Foods brand, it’s way cheaper!)
  • Justin’s vanilla AB squeeze packs: bringing with me for weekends at home
  • organic dark chocolate chips: snacking, baking
  • canned black olives: burrito filling
  • organic lemon mints: I’m trying to stop my sugar free gum habit, and these are pretty natural (and tasty) mints to replace that with
  • Rudi’s gluten free spinach tortillas: burritos, vegan enchiladas, homemade tortilla chips?
  • romaine and green leaf lettuce: salads for the week
  • organic garnet yams: snacks during the week

Obviously a lot of this stuff (other than the produce) will last a lot longer than this week so I actually did really well on the budgeting front as well, especially spending under $40 at Whole Foods. And in case you couldn’t tell from the lists, smothered burritosΒ are on my meal plan for a couple dinners this week (these look amazing!), as are salads for lunches and almond flour pancakes for a few breakfasts. Oh, and I’m trying out raw jalapeno poppers, so stay tuned for a recipe! I’m really liking having a set idea for what to make so I know exactly what I have to buy that week.

Do you like to plan out meals for the week ahead of time? What’s the most fun or delicious dinner you’ve had or will have soon?

14 thoughts on “What I’m Buying and What it’s For

    • I usually do socca pizza, which is just garbanzo bean flour mixed with water, since it’s really easy, but I’m excited to try this one out since it’s made from a mix of GF grains and it sounds like it’ll be pretty similar in taste to regular pizza. I’m not sure if you have frozen or fresh GF pizza doughs near you though but it’s worth a look!

  1. I love seeing other people’s meal plans and grocery hauls as well – I don’t know what it is that makes other people’s diets so darned fascinating… but I guess that’s what makes us foodies πŸ™‚ That being said, I’m horrible when it comes to meal planning. I used to do it all the time, but eventually I found that it didn’t really line up with my cravings as much as I’d like it to, so I scrapped the planning and just started to go with the flow instead. It’s both a blessing and a curse, since sometimes I can’t think of what I want to eat and end up having breakfast for dinner more often than not… but then again, that’s not necessarily a bad thing πŸ˜‰

  2. I love grocery hauls and meal plans, too, but I figure I will love them even more when I have a kitchen (you have no idea how badly I want one right now).

  3. Love this post! I liked to see what you did with all of your groceries! And all of these ideas look SO yummy. I always get enticed into big recipes and then I run out of time to make them and then end up just eating a random mish-mosh. I need to start following your ideas for simpler recipes and things! Also, there are those yams! How do you cook them?

  4. I used to do a Midweek Munchies Post Weekly YEARS ago when I blogged and have ben trying to get back into it…it’s not as fun when it’s ‘just me’ – I’d love for some others to play! Would you be interested! LOVE your Shopping Posts!!!

  5. P says:

    Your meal prep and knowing what you’re going to do with each ingredient is just awesome! I need to get better at meal prep…I’m tired of bringing microwavable stuff and having the same unimaginative breakfasts :P.

    • Meal prep is great for busy weeks–I always plan the weekend before, then go out and buy what I need and make it all before Monday. It takes more work up front but then it’s easy to just grab what I want during the week.

Comments are closed.