WIAW: The Last One?

As much as I love the weekly party known as WIAW, I probably won’t be participating in it for awhile. Why? Well, other than being busy with school again (I just started up yesterday and I think this semester will be crazy, in a good way) I’m just getting bored with posting my daily eats. I tend to go in waves with things that I eat, so a lot of my WIAWs look pretty similar. Nothing wrong with that, it’s just not that exciting to me anymore. I will still be checking out all your WIAW posts though, no worries!

Breakfast: PB& J inspired French toast.

Breakfast: PB& J inspired French toast.

I went to Sprouts the other day for a few things, and finally found the bread I’d been looking for–Alvarado Street essential flax sprouted bread. I liked the ingredients (for the most part), the nutrition stats and the fact that it’s smaller bread so it makes for better sandwiches. I don’t know about you but I like my sammies to be all about the filling–I prefer open-faced sandwiches but those aren’t so portable. So this 50 calorie per slice bread is perfect, and has simple ingredients for being a lower-cal bread, unlike most brands. It also made the perfect PB&J inspired French toast. I just dipped two toasted slices of the bread in peanut flour thinned with almond milk, cooked it, and topped it with crunchy almond butter and microwaved frozen blueberries. This is as good as it gets for a breakfast made at 7 am. That might not seem that early, but it is to me #collegeproblems

Lunch: noochy kale salad with olives and roasted chili lime chickpeas.

Lunch: noochy kale salad with olives and roasted chili lime chickpeas.

I’ve been having salads a lot lately for lunch, and the key to a great homemade salad is shaking all the ingredients up so they get coated in the dressing. Today, I just mixed nutritional yeast with a little apple cider vinegar and thinned with water, then tossed in some dino kale, olives and some new-to-me roasted chickpeas. I love these things, they’re way too addicting. I also had some unpictured salted in-shell pistachios (amazing!) and a date stuffed with chocolate coconut butter. I don’t know what it is about that combo, but it’s delicious. I just discovered it yesterday, and now I need more dates to enjoy the combo on a daily basis.

Snack: homemade trail mix with spicy chickpea crackers, dry roasted edamame, raisins, freeze dried tropical fruit and mini chocolate chips.

Snack: homemade trail mix with spicy chickpea crackers, dry roasted edamame, raisins, freeze dried tropical fruit and mini chocolate chips.

Trail mix in a baggie–how classy. This is going to be a go-to snack this semester on my busier days when I don’t have time to swing by my apartment to have a snack. I love making trail mix myself because I can add in whatever weird stuff I like. The chickpea crackers in this one were a new addition to my normal mix–I made them the other day and they’re actually really good and basically just made from chickpea flour, nooch and spices.

Dinner: curry peanut kelp noodle stirfry with edamame, carrots and bok choy.

Dinner: curry peanut kelp noodle stirfry with edamame, carrots and bok choy.

Why do the most random creations turn out to be the tastiest? I was tired after my first day of classes (a long day, BTW) and didn’t want to think too much about dinner so I threw together some stuff to make a sauce for my typical kelp noodle stirfry. For the record, I combined Whole Foods brand crunchy PB (the only PB I can stand), Hope Hummus coconut curry hummus, Frontera hot sauce and coconut aminos with almond milk to thin and it made the most delicious sauce. I don’t know why, but it was amazing. This will be repeated nightly weekly.

Dessert: peanut flour microwave cake with chocolate chips and crunchy AB.

Dessert: peanut flour microwave cake with chocolate chips and crunchy AB.

This has been my usual dessert for probably two weeks and I’m still not sick of it. I like to have some protein before bed to keep me from getting hangry so this does the trick while also giving me my sweet fix. I also had an unpictured square of dark mint chocolate (Alter Eco brand, natch) and another cacao bliss-stuffed date. Told you I’m obsessed.

Do you ever make random but delicious meals? What would you put in your trail mix?

21 thoughts on “WIAW: The Last One?

  1. Girl, 7 am IS (way too) early :)! I had to get up at 6.15 AM to get to class in time several times lately and it’s just not my time. Wondering how many bloggers regularly get up a lot earlier – I might be slightly jealous.

    I’m SO classy with my millions of plastic baggies filled with snacks for classes, too. You wouldn’t believe what all I’ve transported in them yet …

    That trail mix sounds wonderful. Would you mind sharing the recipe for your crackers? I’m so bad at guesstimating amounts.

    Regarding not participating in WIAW anymore: Just do what you’re feeling like. If it’s too much effort within busy days in class then don’t feel the need to post. As long as you’re not giving up your blog in general because that’d be sad :).

    • Whew, good to know I’m not the only one out there who likes to sleep in!

      I can definitely give you the recipe, I’ll post it here in the comments.

      Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or foil. In a large bowl, combine 1/2 cup garbanzo bean/chickpea flour, 1/4 cup nutritional yeast, 1/4 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt and whatever spices you want. Add 1 tsp olive oil (or whatever oil you have) to the flour mixture and add in water 1 tbsp at a time until a thick dough forms (I think I used about 1/4 cup). Knead the dough, shape into a ball and set aside for 10 minutes. Roll out the dough on the baking sheet and flatten with a rolling pin or with your hands, and cut into small squares. Poke a few holes in each cracker, and bake for 20 to 25 minutes or until they start to brown and crisp up.

      Let me know how these turn out if you try them!

  2. Dates stuffed with anything is amazing πŸ™‚ Try stuffing them with almond butter and a few chocolate chips (or even better, carob chips!) It’s super good πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  3. I know what you mean about getting bored with posting daily eats… It’s the same way for me, and I think it’s mostly because I don’t like to have to bother with taking pictures of what I eat. Well, that and I’ve found my groove and tend to eat a lot of the same meals as well. Just blog about whatever feels right πŸ˜€

    As for trail mix, I’d probably make mine with: roasted almonds, chocolate chips, pretzels, raisins, dried bananas, aaaand some sort of cereal… maybe cinnamon Puffins.

  4. sarah says:

    Obviously it is your blog, and you should blog about WHATEVER you please!

    But just know, that yours is one of the WIAW posts I look forward to the most. Heck, I just love seeing your creative, healthful, delicious eats :).
    Xxx

    • Awwww, that makes me feel better about posting them! I think I’ll probably end up doing a WIAW once a month or so highlighting my favorite recent meals, just so there’s less pressure to take pictures every week.

  5. I totally feel you about the whole college problems thing and getting up super early. Some of these days I haven’t even had enough time to make myself lunch to bring to school. It is ridic crazy. I will def miss your WIAW posts.

  6. P says:

    My eats also get repetitive and taking pics of everything I eat does get tedious, so that’s why I haven’t participated in WIAW in a while (even though I’d like to). Now I’m craving PB&J toast! πŸ˜›

Comments are closed.