WIAW: What I (Want to) Eat on Thanksgiving

Can you believe we’re just over a week away from T-day? Me neither! Does it surprise you that I really like Thanksgiving–even as a vegan? For me, it’s not really about the food (the desserts, though…) but the fact that I get a week-long break away from school, just when I need one. I am really stressin’ right now but luckily this year, I get an extra day off because my class on Friday was cancelled. Definitely thankful for that!

Even though I’m not a fan of the traditional Thanksgiving fare, I still have some things I would like to make and eat on the big day. Some of the flavors that scream ‘Thanksgiving’ for me include maple, pumpkin, cranberry and pecan so hopefully I can include all of those in this year’s meal.

Maple roasted veggies. Photo from La Vida Vegga.

Roasted veggies are the best–why not make them even better with a hint of real maple syrup? I think these would be great as leftovers too!

Maple pecan pie bars. Photo courtesy of Natural Noshing.

Can you believe these are vegan, gluten-free and grain free? Me either, but I really want to give them a whirl to see if they turn out as delicious as they look. I actually really love trying out recipes that are vegan and grain free, which is kinda hard to find since most grain free recipes include eggs, but this one thankfully doesn’t!

Cranberry kale salad. Photo courtesy of Kraft (recipe from Whole Foods).

You all know how much I love kale (it’s my favorite veggie, other than sweet potatoes) so combining it in a salad with fresh cranberries and miso paste sounds perfect for Thanksgiving.

Vegan caramel apple. Photo courtesy of Healthy Happy Life.

Caramel apples seem so complicated and way too sugary…but not this one! The recipe seems so easy to follow, and the caramel sauce itself is made with coconut sugar (lower glycemic!) and coconut milk so it’s much healthier.

Spiced grilled sweet potatoes. Photo courtesy of Whole Foods.

Sweet potatoes are great, but even better when they’re grilled and made spicy!

Pumpkin s’mores pudding. Photo courtesy of Healthy Food for Living.

How amazeballs does this look? It’ll be the perfect way to use up some of the Ricemellow creme I just bought–huge container, thought it was a little too sweet but it would be great on top of this!

Pecan pie waffle. Photo courtesy of Three and a Half Vegans.

You know my obsession with waffles–these take that to a whole new level! I think I know what I’ll be having for breakfast on Thanksgiving morning…

Do you prefer pumpkin, apple, sweet potato or pecan pie? What’s your favorite fall flavor? 

21 thoughts on “WIAW: What I (Want to) Eat on Thanksgiving

  1. All those recipes look delicious! My favorite pie is definitely apple; I made a homemade one for Thanksgiving last year that actually turned out fairly well….I am thinking about creating some sort of stuffed squash recipe for this year’s Thanksgiving dinner, maybe basing it on a recipe I saw in the most recent Vegnews magazine. I don’t have only ONE specific favorite fall flavor, but I love pumpkin, apple, sweet potato, cinnamon, and hearty chili!

  2. Ack I’m so jealous that you guys have Thanksgiving coming up – ours was last month, and seeing all of the amazing food is making me envious. I think I might just have to celebrate with you guys just so I don’t feel left out 😉 And holy.wow do all of those recipes look amazing. Fall flavors have seriously got to be my favorite, and it’s hard to choose between them. Buuuuuut if I absolutely had to, I’d probably go with apple for a pie… I’ve never really been crazy about pumpkin or sweet potato pies, and I have a pretty decent obsession with apples right now.

  3. Can I eat everything? I am so excited for Thanksgiving, but also not for the food, but for the break and to see my family. I have weird plans for Thanksgiving this year and I don’t really know how it’s going to go but we’ll see. It’ll still be fun.

  4. Yum those are great ideas! I’m not a huge fan of traditional Thanksgiving food either, so I’m planning to cook stuff with a healthier twist! I love pumpkin geverything, so pumpkin pie has to win for me!

  5. I love Thanksgiving, too! Although I’m not vegan or vegetarian, so it’s not as impressive haha. I can’t believe you get a whole week off from school! I don’t even get the day before Thanksgiving off! It sucks 😦 Those grilled sweet potatoes look really good! I’ve never even thought of grilling them, before… that’s such a good idea.

    ** I’d love it if you would participate in my new blog link-up Shopping List Friday! (See my blog for more details).

    • Awww man, I’d be mad if I didn’t get the week off for Thanksgiving! I know a lot of schools and workplaces don’t give people that much time off though but they really should.

      I just checked out your Shopping List Friday post and I love the idea! I will definitely be linking up soon 🙂

Comments are closed.