WIAW: Weird Day of Eats

This is going to be a quick WIAW post since I’ve been incredibly busy this week–it’s midterm time and I’ve been overloaded with other school stuff too. But I still wanted to get in a WIAW so here it is! This is showing (almost) all of my food from Monday and it was a weird day of eating. My fridge hasn’t been working so I’ve had to keep my food in a small insulated cooler and I have to constantly change the ice out. It’s a pain in the butt, especially since the whole ordeal ended up making my kale inedible 😦 but hopefully my fridge will be fixed soon.

Caramel apple protein smoothie. Unsweetened vanilla almond milk. A quarter of a Pink Lady apple. 1 small Medjool date. Vega vanilla almondilla protein powder. Dried apple ring.

This was totally made up on the spot, but it worked, and actually tasted caramel-y. It’s still warm enough here most days for smoothies so I hope I can enjoy this a few more times.

Starbucks tall salted caramel mocha frappuccino light with soy. Unpictured side of dry roast edamame and maple pecans.

Yes, this was lunch. And yes, it was delicious. Also yes, it didn’t leave me satisfied. Obviously having a lunch that’s mostly caffeine and fake sugar will do that to you, but I was really craving a light frappuccino and this did the trick. I tried to bulk it up by adding protein (edamame) and fat (pecans). I wouldn’t do it again, but it was tasty.

Hannah yam. Salted almond butter, maple syrup, vegan chocolate chips.

This quick snack did the trick. The combo seems really weird but it works. If you’ve never tried a Hannah yam, you should. They look like regular potatoes on the outside but have a yellow-y inside and taste like a sweet potato.

This is my morning weather update from this week! It’s CTV’s (my college’s TV station) first week trying out these morning weather updates so hopefully they get better over time. And next time I hope I don’t look fat–it’s probably just how the shot was cropped and that it’s widescreen but I look seriously bloated. No bueno.

Yay for cheap-o knockoffs!

If you thought these were TOMS, you’d be wrong. But they’re almost as good, plus they were under $10. I made an impromptu stop at Super Target the other day and got sucked into buying these shoes. But hey, they were a good deal and I needed a pair of flats. You can’t really tell by the picture, but they’re a glittery gold. So cute, and so cheap.

Coconut flour microwave cake topped with peanut flour. Kale with vegan creamy garlic dressing. Two falafel balls. Dried apple rings.

Finally some veggies other than a sweet potato! This was the last of my kale because sadly it wilted after being in a less-than-cold fridge. Sad day. This was a delicious, if random, dinner though. (Side note: I finally have peanut flour back in my life!)

Protein cereal bowl. Sunrise maple cereal. PB & chocolate Puffins. Chocolate chips. Raisins. Unsweetened vanilla almond milk. Peanut flour.

I used to be such a cereal fiend, but now I have it maybe once a week. And it’s always in protein cereal bowl form, aka I put protein powder or peanut flour in the bottom of a bowl, dump in the cereal and other add-ins and then add almond milk. So good, and I get a nice dose of protein with my carbs.

Do you have any ‘knockoff’ shoes?Β What’s the weirdest lunch you’ve ever had?

26 thoughts on “WIAW: Weird Day of Eats

  1. OH NOOOOOOO about your fridge!!!! What a majoy bummer!! 😦 Hope it gets fixed asap. But I gotta say, all of your eats look delish πŸ™‚
    PS– you’re so freakin adorable in that weather report video!

  2. Awwr lookit you on TV! Super cute! And your “TOMS” are adorable! I actually have a pair of sparkly black TOMS knockoffs and you can barely tell the difference. Besides, that just leaves more money to be spent on good food, right? πŸ˜‰

  3. How cool about the TV bit, you are looking great m’dear! And yeppp love those shoes, so cute and much less expensive which is even better πŸ™‚ Your eats are looking good Ashley… that was an odd lunch for sure, but def something I would go for!

  4. sarah says:

    Its hard to imagine what someone would be like on tv, from a blog, if ya know what I mean. But now I know, that your chosen career aspirations to be a weather girl, are PERFECT for you! Seriously, your voice & everything was made for that career:).
    Xxx

  5. Oooh, such cute shoes!

    Don’t be so hard on yourself, girl! I don’t think you look bloated at all though I know the feeling. I think most often when I feel awfully bloated nobody else notices. Also, my therapist noted that was a downside of being thin: Even if we only eat a normal amount of food our stomaches stick out more than other people’s. So you’re not alone on this one. Hope this helps a little.

  6. Girl,you do NOT look bloated or fat or ANYTHING at all! Don’t say such awful things about you,please,cause it’s not true… In fact,I think you’re super super cute and I love your voice,seriously! Wish I could see you more often! πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.