WIAW: Fall Flavors

As much as I hate to admit it, I’m excited for fall. I vowed to not wear long pants until fall officially arrived…yeah, that didn’t happen. I wore them twice in the past two weeks because it got randomly chilly for a couple days. I’ve embraced my moccasins again (and I’m looking for another pair to buy). And I’ve been enjoying the flavors of fall. Here they are, WIAW style!

Caramel apple coffee? Uh, heck to the yes!

You know me, I’m a sucker for anything seasonal or limited edition. I recently inherited my dad’s coffeemaker and I was planning on buying the coconut macaroon flavored coffee from Target, but when I saw this, there was no stopping me. I mean, you can’t go wrong with caramel and apple in coffee. Especially when it’s made with vanilla almond milk.

Looks weird, tastes amazing.

I’ve finally got a recipe for y’all! I made this last week when I got down to the end of my first can of pumpkin. I also had a bit of a leftover sweet potato so I decided to mix them up with a few other things and it turned out surprisingly really good.

Pumpkin Coconut Mash (vegan, gluten-free)

1/4 cup canned pumpkin puree

1/4 sweet potato (or another 1/4 cup pumpkin)

1 tbsp coconut flour

drizzle agave or maple syrup

maple or vanilla extract

unsweetened vanilla almond milk, to thin

cinnamon, raisins, protein frosting, etc. for topping

In a bowl, mash together pumpkin, sweet potato (if using) and coconut flour.ย Add in liquid sweetener and extract to taste and pour in almond milk until mixture is thick and wet. Microwave on high for 1-3 minutes, or until combined and hot. Drizzle with more maple or agave, cinnamon, raisins, protein frosting or whatever you want. Makes 1 serving.

Coconut oil makes everything better!

This was my attempt at homemade plantain chips. I’ve always wanted to try them, but I’m not a fan of deep-fried things or weird oils. So I bought a plantain, put a little coconut oil in a pan and cooked up the slices. I also sprinkled cinnamon on them while they were cooking. They turned out really delicious, but not crispy at all. Next time I think I’ll cook them first and then dehydrate them.

Slice homemade white pizza, slice homemade sweet and salty pumpkin pizza, fresh blueberries.

Have any of you ever had “white” pizza? I think it’s usually an alfredo-based sauce topped with wilted spinach. I haven’t had it in years but I really wanted to recreate it, healthy vegan style, and I was totally successful. I topped some Whole Foods multigrain pizza dough with Follow Your Heart vegan creamy garlic dressing, shredded kale leaves and navy beans. Super simple, but it turned out great. The dressing kinda soaked into the crust and it tasted even better that way. The pumpkin pizza I made wasn’t quite as good, but I made an amazing pumpkin pizzaย last year, so I’ll just have to tweak this sauce next time.

This is basically the cleanest donut ever!

Have you ever seen a donut with these ingredients? I’ll admit, neither had I until the other day. I really think it’s awesome that Whole Foods made a healthier donut. Who could say no to garbanzo beans, coconut, almonds and pumpkin in their donut? Of course I had to buy it to try it out!

This gluten free and vegan donut was a winner!

And the verdict is….amazing! This donut was perfectly moist and fudgy, like the perfect chocolate cake. I’m not even a fan of cake and I liked this. I was only disappointed because it claimed to be a pumpkin donut, and it was basically all chocolate. But I don’t complain about chocolate, ever.

I’ll miss being able to wear strapless tops with no jacket…

I’ve been switching up my workouts lately with an app called Skimble Workouts. Most of the stuff on there is free, and they’ve got a ton of pre-made workout routines of different lengths and intensities. I’ve been getting great ab, leg and arm workouts lately and they’re lots of fun. Obviously I wanted to show off my hard work with a progress pic of sorts. Can you see that baby bicep?

So I was going to end this post with a video of my first weather forecast ever from last week but the video wouldn’t load. I should be able to get either this week or last week’s forecast up in the next few days though. I’d love any and all feedback you guys have for me!

What’s the weirdest ingredient you’ve seen in a baked good? What’s your favorite “fall flavor”?

26 thoughts on “WIAW: Fall Flavors

  1. Fall has some of the best flavors, so it’s hard to pick just one! Cinnamon, caramel, maple, pumpkin… I refuse to choose ๐Ÿ˜› I think the best thing about Fall flavors is that they’re so warm and comforting. It gets super cold up here, so coming home to something warm and aromatic is just heavenly.

  2. That vegan white pizza you created is so unique and delicious! That creamy garlic dressing sounds SO good; I love garlic-flavored condiments/dips/dressings. Wow, that is quite an impressive ingredient list for a doughnut–I will have to see if they carry it at the Whole Foods near us…Especially since I love “moist and fudgy” baked goods, much more so than dry and crumbly cake. To be honest, I think the strangest ingredients in baked goods are all the artificial chemicals, sweeteners, and colors that are put into so many processed cakes, cookies, pies, etc…I don’t really think chickpeas and soymilk are half as strange as those chemical-y products:) Some of my favorite fall flavors are pumpkin (and other squash), sweet potato, apple, cinnamon, chocolate (well, that is really a year-round flavor, I suppose:), and many others!

    • Oh I completely agree, I just don’t understand why they have to put such crap in food! I would much rather have chickpeas and coconut in my donuts. Plus if it tastes good, why not put quality ingredients in them?

  3. You’re super strong! I’m jealous. I am so excited for fall! It was getting all cool where I lived but then I moved to college and it’s like 93 degrees here and sunny all the time. Hurry up fall!

  4. That donut sounds so great! I wish the WF near me had stuff like that… we have tons of baked goods, but they are all err the more unhealthy stuff that continues to scare me a bit haha. Maybe I can recreate something similar for myself ๐Ÿ™‚
    That pumpkin coconut mash sounds tasty… so many of my favorite flavors in one! Nice looking arm there too girl

  5. I’m so excited for apples this season! I’ve already been eating one a day but I can’t wait to bake with them. Coconut “fried” plantains sounds sooo good. I love plantains!

  6. Boston is so odd – first it was definitely summer, but now it feels like it’s definitely fall. There’s no transition period! The plaintains look interesting ๐Ÿ™‚ And that donut sounds so cool! As for fall flavors, I love apples (soooooo much) and winter squashes like Kabocha and Butternut squash!

Comments are closed.