The Meal Survey

Happy Labor Day, for those of you who get the day off! Sorry I’ve been pretty MIA since midweek–school was crazy and then I came home for the long weekend. My family and I went to Breckenridge, CO on Saturday for their annual duck race. Sounds silly, but totally fun and a great excuse for a day trip to the mountains. I was really looking forward to it, especially because the weather here has been crazy hot for months and it’s always cooler up there. Well, we got a little more than we bargained for–it was sunny and hot in the morning, storm clouds rolled in and it rained like crazy, then it was cold and windy, then sunny again and finally cold and rainy. Totally bipolar day, but still fun!

Today I’ve just got a fun food-related survey that’s been all around the blog world lately. Enjoy!

Breakfast Questions

1. Favorite cereal as a child?

Tough question, since I was a huge cereal lover as a kid. That was basically my breakfast every morning. I remember really loving Post Blueberry Morning. It was a healthy-ish cereal but plenty sweet and full of berries and almonds!

2. Coffee or tea? With milk or without?

Coffee for sure! I love tea, but really only iced tea. Coffee is great iced and hot. When I get it iced, I go for just straight black coffee sweetened with some Truvia. But I prefer my hot coffee with a little soymilk or almond milk (Starbucks, can you get on the almond milk trend?) and one of their sugar-free syrups. I know artificial sweeteners aren’t the best, but I love their syrups and they’re an occasional indulgence.

First hot coffee drink in months! Tall soy skinny vanilla latte.

3. The one food you eat most often at breakfast?

I go through major breakfast phases. A year ago, I was really into overnight oats. Then I liked hot oats. Then smoothies in a bowl. Then pancakes. Now it’s waffles, and I’m ob-sessed! I always make them with buckwheat flour (I want to experiment with coconut flour though), ground flax, almond milk and then go crazy with mix-ins or toppings. My favorites are dark chocolate chips, real maple syrup, sweet potato, berries and protein frosting.

Lunch Questions

1. Sandwiches are generally considered a “lunch food”. If you had to choose between a grilled cheese and a peanut butter and jelly, which would you pick?

Hands-down, PB&J! I obviously don’t eat real cheese anymore and I’m not a big fan of the vegan cheeses. I actually never was a big grilled cheese lover, even as a kid. However, I did used to eat just jelly sandwiches on wheat bread because I hated (still do) PB. I was a weird kid 😉 I absolutely love almond butter and jelly sandwiches though. I really want to try a macadamia butter and mango jam sandwich, it just sounds amazing!

2. You can only put four ingredients in your salad (not including greens); what do you throw in the mix? Additionally, which greens and dressing do you pick?

Ooooooh, hard question! I really love complex, random salads so it’s hard for me to pick just four. I guess I’ll go with edamame, peanut sauce, red peppers and chili-flavored cashews (like the Thai salad from Panera!) For greens, I usually go with kale or baby spinach. I hate hate HATE arugula though, so I’ll pick it out if it’s in a spring mix. I’m so high maintenance 😉

Another favorite salad, from Qdoba. Black beans, corn salsa, habanero salsa and tons of guac.

3. One food you can’t live without at lunch?

My lunches are always different, but one thing that stays the same is produce. I always have a fruit and veggie at lunch time and I try to mix it up. I love salads but it isn’t always practical to have one, so sometimes I’ll bring baby carrots or mini sweet peppers to campus and for fruit I try to go with something more portable if I can’t be at my apartment for lunch.

Dinner Questions

1. It’s the end of the day. You’re tired, hungry, and your fridge is empty. If a fast food (from a chain) is your only option, where do you go and what do you order?

I haven’t had legit fast food in years, and I have no desire to do so. Plus most of them aren’t very vegan-friendly. I prefer fast casual chains, like Chipotle, Panera, Noodles, etc. since they have plenty of healthy options. However, my real ‘go-to’ is Whole Foods. Their prepared foods section is amazing and you all know my love for their salad bar! I actually just got some again on Friday and I’m already wanting more #noshame

The latest Whole Foods salad bar box. Marinated artichokes, sweet potato and pepper salad, orange chipotle tofu, Korean veggies, chana masala.

2. TV/computer on or off while you’re eating?

Always on, at least when I’m by myself, otherwise it feels too quiet and weird.

3. The one food you eat most often at dinner?

Sweet potatoes! I don’t know why, but I rarely have them at other meals (besides my sweet potato chocolate chips waffles). They’re my addiction for sure, especially topped with nut butter!

Dessert Questions

1. Choose between these two American desserts: cheesecake or apple pie?

Cheesecake, definitely. Never been an apple pie fan, but cheesecake was one of my faves before becoming vegan. Now I still enjoy it sometimes, when I make raw cheesecake from scratch or buy this amazing raw cheesecake brand from Whole Foods (super expensive, but worth it).

First attempt at raw cheesecake!

2. Choose between these two foreign desserts: tiramisu (Italy) or flan (Spain)?

Never had flan, but it does not look appetizing. Tiramisu, on the other hand, is amazing. I haven’t had it in forever, but I’m working on a raw, vegan version. Stay tuned!

3. Ice cream: cone or cup?

I prefer cups, unless it’s a special-flavored waffle cone like this one place in Estes Park makes. They seriously have flavors like bubblegum and marshmallow!

What nut butter and jelly sandwich combo have you always wanted to try? What’s your favorite American-style dessert?

18 thoughts on “The Meal Survey

  1. I love the Starbucks skinny vanilla lattes :). I just get lowfat milk though because I do have dairy. Still, it’s delicious! I am with you on the fast food thing, I like Subway and Firehouse but I won’t eat at any of the chain burger type places like McD’s or BK. Not happenin’. Whole Foods and Earth Fare are good lunch bars though!

  2. caloricandcrazy says:

    I didn’t know Panera made thai salad!? Sounds amazing! Thad Qdoba salad looks awesome too—with all the guac! 🙂

  3. I had my first hot coffee in months too! The weather is definitely getting a little crisper, and I can’t wait to enjoy more hot lattes and cappuccinos 🙂 And I’m feeling you on the whole “jelly on bread” bit, because that’s exactly what I used to do as a little kid… well either that or just honey on bread. Omigosh so good. That being said, can’t deny that AB and blueberry jam make a lovely pair.

  4. Emily says:

    Yay! I’m so glad you did this survey too!
    I go through breakfast phases too- I’ve always been that way! I can remember going through them in junior high and high school too except the foods were much different; poptarts, Costco poppyseed muffins, Eggo waffles, Frosted Mini Wheats, etc. haha.
    Chipotle and Panera are my on-the-go restaurants of choice as well (only if Whole Foods isn’t available, of course!)

  5. Very fun survey:) I completely agree that PB and J is better than a grilled cheese–I rarely eat cheese, and the vegan types are rather pricey. I would love to try a cashew butter and blueberry jam sandwich some day; that sounds so delicious! My favorite “America style” dessert is probably apple pie–cliche, maybe, but I LOVE apple pie!! On my birthday last year I requested an apple pie instead of a birthday cake:D I remember that I loved the Puffins cereal when I was younger; I often had it at my grandparents house. Now, however, I generally prefer oatmeal to cereal, though I do occasionally have granola. But oatmeal seems to keep me full longer than cereal does…

  6. Kat @ a dash of fairydust says:

    Wow,that Thai salad from Panera sure sounds amazing! I wish there was a Panera in Germany so I could try it,I am a HUGE fan of chili cashews,you know? 😉

  7. Love this survey! PB&J for the win! I don’t like apple pie or cheesecake. I can’t eat cheesecake because it makes me sick and I’m giving up cheese anyway, and apple pie has just never appealed to me. As my friend would say (who hates all kind of pie) fruit is not supposed to be a dessert! I disagree but that’s what I tell people when they lash out at me for not liking pie.

  8. ooo this is a great survey, another one I must partake in! I would say Panera and Chipotle are my favorite fast food places too, although they aren’t exactly what I consider “fast foods,” they are of course much healthier! I like ice cream in cups with a cone on top.. then I get the best of both worlds and don’t have to hurry and eat the ice cream before it melts off the cone! Very important stuff here hehe 🙂

Comments are closed.