WIAW: On and Off

Sorry about the lack of posting lately! But it’s back-to-school time and this year means moving into my own apartment and getting all settled into a new routine. But now I’m back and ready for another WIAW!

This week, I’ve just got a random assortment of what I’ve been eating and doing, on and off campus. Even though I’m finally living off campus this year, I’m spending more time on campus with all my classes, working at the campus TV station 2 nights a week and a possible new job.

Almond peanut cashew butter mixed with maple syrup and chocolate chips, protein cereal bowl (Nature’s Path sunrise vanilla and PB Puffins mixed with Plant Fusion vanilla pro powder, u/s almond milk and raisins).

Protein powder is a must on my busy days for getting protein in. Now I love mixing it in the bottom of my cereal with some almond milk and enjoying the extra flavor and texture boost.

Pretty flower on campus!

My sister and I headed to campus a few days early to hunt down my class locations (some were in buildings I’d never been to before!) and we saw this awesome flower on our walk. I obviously love how pink it is!

Quinoa pasta and vegan ravioli mixed with basil merlot pasta sauce, mini bell peppers, olives and nooooooooch!

I can’t get enough of the nooch lately, seriously. It might be a problem, but it’s a good problem 😉

A pool? A short walk away? Yes please!

Yes, there is a pool at my apartment. Have I gone in yet? No, but I did spend some time tanning by it with my sis over the weekend. Let’s just say it’s a prime tanning and hang out spot.

Hummus and fresh veggie salad on a pita.

My mom and I tried a new-to-us place just down the street from my apartment. It was super fast, super fresh and really yum. I didn’t eat the pita part of this pita, but the hummus and veggies were outta this world!

3 minute carrot cake protein oats.

This was so good, for a super quickie snack! I mixed thick rolled oats with Truvia, almond milk, chopped carrots, raisins, cinnamon, vanilla protein powder and ground flax and topped it with Nature’s Path sunrise vanilla cereal (so good, and gluten free!) and almond peanut cashew butter.

Car selfie FTW!

Can I just say I love having a car? Not only does it make things more convenient, I can also take awesome selfies in it. Alejandro, you’re the best!

My reward after my first day of classes: grande passion iced tea (unsweetened).

I was in desperate need of some Starbies love after my first day of classes. I hit the nearest one up right after my 4 pm class for one of my fave summer drinks and enjoyed it in the sunshine.

Easy breakfast: chocolate mint protein muffin topped with homemade almond butter cup, grapes.

I’ve definitely been getting my kitchen experimenting on, now that I actually have a kitchen! So far, I’ve made no bake peppermint patty bars, mint chocolate almond butter cups and mini buckwheat corn muffins. The bars and cups are the best though–I’ve been on a mint chocolate kick lately.

First dinner in my new place: vegan nachos! Made with Late July multigrain chips, pinto beans, spicy guac, peach mango salsa, kale sauteed in coconut oil and nooch.

I finally got over my fear of the white stuff and bought some coconut oil. I’ve heard so many good things about the health benefits of it and was sick of avoiding recipes because they included it. I accidentally got the refined kind, but next time I’ll know to get the extra virgin kind for coconutty flavor!

Have you used coconut oil? How do you use protein powder?

26 thoughts on “WIAW: On and Off

    • I think the trick is adding the right amount of baking powder! I always use 1/4 tsp and they turn out pretty well! Plus I add in a little ground flax or chia and a tbsp or less of a flour to make it more cake like. Hope that helps!

  1. Emily says:

    I’m sure you’re having a blast getting all settled in to your new apartment- I always love getting things organized. And yay for your car! I honestly can’t imagine life without mine.
    As always, all of your food looks amazing! Protein powder has seriously become a staple in my diet lately. It’s just so convenient and delicious. I usually use it for smoothies, protein cereal, or protein oats…although I really want to try making a protein muffin!

    Happy WIAW! ❤

  2. A pool! how awesome is that?! I am jealous,girl! 😉
    I wish I had an apartment of my own,sigh… Someday,someday.
    And onto your eats,I recently descovered my passion for protein powder as well. Such an easy and delicious way to get my protein in – and there are so many different ways to use it,so I never get bored. Yay! 🙂

  3. Yay for getting back to school and the new routine and such! No worries about the lacking posts, this is a busy and exciting time for you 🙂 That is awesome you have a pool at the apartment, I would be out there wayyy too much for my own good haha
    That’s great the restaurant had tasty hummus, sometimes it can be a bit iffy depending on the place

  4. So you’re already all moved in? Congrats! I move back to campus next weekend, and I’m starting to get really excited 🙂 The news station job is an extracurricular, right? So where are you thinking of working? I work at the library (I have since freshman fall) so I’ll probably do that again! It’s a pretty nice job, I like it! Did your big sister go to the same college as you? That’s pretty cool!

    • Good luck moving back in! I applied for a job/internship at my university’s technology transfer office as communications person, so we’ll see what happens. Oh, and sorry about the confusion with my sister, she’s actually 3 years younger than me and was just up here for the weekend when I was moving in! But it would be cool if she goes to school where I do!

  5. Wow moving in to a new apartment must be so so exciting! It sounds lovely and having a pool is amazing.

    Your food always looks delicious, especially the quinoa pasta and vegan ravioli and that passion iced tea 🙂

    By the way your hair is really pretty, I love how you style it!

  6. caloricandcrazy says:

    That flower is gorgeous! Such a lovely shade of purple =)

    Nooch and pasta sounds really good!

    Are you going to the same college as your sister? If so, that must be fun!

    • I wish she was going to school with me, it would be amazing! But she’s actually 3 years younger than me and unfortunately isn’t planning on going to the same college as me. But we’ll see what happens 😉

  7. L says:

    just wondering, how come you don’t eat pita (or didn’t teat it)? I love nooch too! And passion tea is so refreshing!

  8. LOVE coconut oil. It just adds such a great flavor to anything in sweet baked goods or even a savory, island-y dish. I probably should of hunted down where my classes would be because on the first day i was 10 minutes late to about every one! I was freaking out but of course the professors didn’t care. Next time, though. Also, I LOVE the curls in your hair- gorgeous!

Comments are closed.