Raw Survey and Letting Go

Another survey, I know! If this was a tweet, I’d be saying #sorryimnotsorry. So yeah, I like surveys and they’re easy to do. But I’ve also got a more serious discussion in this post too, so look for that! This survey is all about raw foods, because I’m interested in raw foodism and I love experimenting with raw dessert recipes.

Favorite nut?

Oh man, this is a super hard question! I love so many nuts/seeds. But my fave nut at the moment is definitely cashews. I can’t believe I used to hate them, now I eat them in some form almost every day. They make amazing raw dips and spreads (like my spicy nacho cheez and mascarpone ‘cream’) and can be incorporated in all kinds of raw desserts.

Favorite fruit and veggie?

Another hard one. I’ll just go with what I’m loving most right now–mango and kale. I actually dominated an entire mango the other day at one time, no shame. Now I really want to make some kind of raw massaged mango kale salad!

How good does this look?!

What raw food have you never liked?

Sashimi. Um, yuck. I used to like fish before I became vegan, but even then I thought raw fish sounded nasty. I never wanted to risk getting sick, so I never tried it.

Favorite raw dessert?

Either raw brownies or raw cheesecake. Both are really easy and fun to make but I want to try a store-bought or restaurant version some day!

Raw key lime cheezcake, made with cashews.

What raw food do you eat most often?

Definitely fruits and veggies. I actually prefer most veggies in their natural, aka uncooked and raw form, they just taste so much better that way. A lot of people don’t like raw kale, but I’m obsessed with it. Just squirt a little lemon juice on it, sprinkle some nooch on it and you’re good to go!

What raw food do you want to try?

Raw protein powders. I would love to add a protein punch to my raw desserts and I just think the raw powders might taste even better and more real than the vegan powders I currently love.

What is your favorite raw food discovery?

Cacao nibs. I was intrigued by them when I saw them on someone’s blog and then I decided Β to order some. They make a great (but less sweet) sub for chocolate chips and they’ve got a cool texture.

An (almost) totally raw breakfast, featuring banana softserve and cacao nibs.

Onto the “letting go” part of my title. As I said in my last post, I’m going on vacation soon. As much as I love getting away from the daily grind, vacations can be so hard, especially for my eating and exercise habits. I’m realizing that I won’t be able to do my daily 45-60 minute workouts for a few days and we’ll be eating out for dinner every night and I’m kinda freaking out. But really, why can’t I enjoy myself for 5 days and balance my normal healthy eating with some meals out (that’ll still be fairly healthy) and just working out by hitting the outdoor pool and walking around the town and hiking in the mountains. I think I’ll live, and probably have more fun. So for at least the days I’m on vacation, I want to skip adding up my meals and workouts in the calorie tracking app I use and not flip out if I can’t be as balanced as I am at home. I think I can still be really healthy–it’s not like I’m going to start eating junk because it doesn’t make me feel good–and the few days I’m away might make all the difference in the changes I’m trying to make to fight my ED. I like knowing the numbers and the macros, but really, they’re not the be-all end-all. I want to try moving towards intuitive eating, instead of restriction and counting.

What raw food do you eat most often? How do you balance vacations and your health?

21 thoughts on “Raw Survey and Letting Go

  1. caloricandcrazy says:

    YAY YAY YAY for letting go! When I “let go” at Native Foods cafe…I enjoyed what I ate fully and was able to truly eat what I wanted to. Not what fit my calorie limit. Looking back, I’m glad I did.

    While I’m still not as “free” as I was on my trip, I have been working on not being so strict. Today was an accomplishment too! We went out, and I had fro yo with toppings without worrying about the calorie count. I had samples (which included chocolate) and am not worrying about the fat. It’s another step in the right direction, and letting yourself go (for at least five days) will only push you forward in your goals :)!!

    • That’s awesome about the froyo! I really loved your Native Foods post and it inspired me to want to be less strict with what I’m eating, especially on vacation. I think everyone deserves at least a few days to just eat what they want (in moderation) and just have fun!

  2. sarah says:

    Aww , don’t worry babe! Even if you don’t eat ‘healthily’ or particularly balanced for 5 days, nothing bad will happen- you’re so young and eat really clean all the rest of the time, a little indulgence won’t harm you/ make you balloon up at all. Promise:).
    You don’t get to be on vacation everyday, so it would be silly to be worrying about (illogical) food/exercise fears during this special time. You deserve to enjoy yourself!
    Xxx

  3. I really hope you’ll be able to enjoy your vacation,my dear – you deserve it so much and it would be a shame if you let your ED ruin it!
    I know that especially the fact that you won’t be able to do your regular workouts seems pretty terrifying,but trust me,it won’t hurt you at all. By now,I’ve been able to cut back A LOT on exercise and to be honest,I haven’t even gained weight since although I didn’t change anything about my [stupid] eating habits… So don’t be afraid,especially since you’re too thin anyways,it will do your body good to take it a little bit easier – if you can say so,at least,since I know you’ll be very active anyways since that’s just… Ashley! πŸ˜‰
    On another note,I so share your love for mangoes and cashews! I’ve eaten an entire mango for breakfast to day because it was so delicious,OOPS…

    • Oh, yes, the exercise thing is especially scary to me, since I haven’t really taken much of a break from working out in several months. But hearing all the success you’ve had with cutting back makes me feel a lot better about not being able to do as much!

      Haha, I just ate an entire mango as part of my snack the other day, it’s normal πŸ˜‰

  4. Good luck with letting go, I know how tough it can be but you can do it. Plus it will make your vacation so much more enjoyable and it’s like saying Eff you to the ED.

  5. This looks like a fun tag!
    Favorite nut? Fave fruit and veggie? Gosh those are hard questions!!

    I hope you have a great vacation! A few days off WILL NOT ruin anything. Infact, it’ll be good for your metabolism! Change it up a bit and let go. Enjoy your self and dont stress about not being able to workout.
    You dont want to look back on this vacation regreting that you didnt enjoy it.
    You can do this!!

  6. Emily says:

    YAY! I’m sooo proud of you. Focusing on letting go while you’re on vacation is a huge step and I promise that, if you follow through, it’s going to feel amazing. I’ve been working on the same thing recently and it’s such a liberating experience. You don’t need to count calories or burn “X” amount of calories every day to be happy. If you just enjoy the vacation and spending time with your family, you won’t have to worry about the other stuff. (:
    I always LOVE your surveys, by the way. Cashews and raw kale are my favorite!

  7. Vacation is always hard, but try to enjoy yourself! And don’t beat yourself up when you come back if for some reason you slipped up. Just let go and have fun!

  8. Vacation is just a few days, even if you went hog wild you’d be just fine (in fact, considering your condition, you’d be better off!) . I don’t like raw kale, but my sister loves mango!

  9. I have a rule when I vacation – enjoy every moment and get food that I can’t make/can’t eat every single day that way I truly enjoy the experience! Good luck with it – but I’m sure you’ll have a blast!

    P.S – cashews are my FAVORITE nuts too. They taste so buttery πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.