Birthday Weekend and Pineapple Fried Quinoa

Hey guys! Sorry I’ve been slacking on the commenting lately, but today is my 20th birthday and the start of my unofficial birthday weekend so I’m probably going to take the weekend off from the computer but I’ll try to comment here and there if I have time. I’ll be back early next week with a birthday weekend recap but for now, here’s a quickie recipe I threw together for dinner last night. If you follow me on Twitter, you might have seen the tweet and picture I had for it. Anyways, it’s super delicious (and spicy, of course!), easy to make and totally customizable to your tastes.

Like fried rice but fresher and healthier!

Pineapple “Fried” Quinoa (vegan, gluten-free)

1 tsp tamari (gluten free) or reduced sodium soy sauce

2 tbsp fresh pineapple juice

1/4 tsp sesame oil

ground ginger, to taste

curry powder, to taste

1/4 cup fresh pineapple, chopped

1/2 jalapeno, sliced and seeded

handful pumpkin seeds or cashews (optional)

1/3 cup quinoa, cooked

protein of choice (I used flax tempeh and edamame)

Cook quinoa according to directions on package. In a small bowl, stir together tamari, pineapple juice and sesame oil until combined. Add in ground ginger and curry powder, to taste. In a large saucepan or wok, heat a little olive oil and add in your protein. Cook until browned. Stir in pineapple tamari mixture, fresh pineapple, jalapeno, seeds/nuts and quinoa and stir occasionally, for 5 to 10 minutes, or until quinoa is browned and a little crunchy. Makes 1 serving.

What are you doing this weekend?Ā What do you like to put in your stirfrys?

This recipe is being submitted for this week’s (August 12) Healthy Vegan Friday.

17 thoughts on “Birthday Weekend and Pineapple Fried Quinoa

  1. Super happy spectacular awesome birthday to you! Have an amazing one! 20 is a big deal. Eat whatever the heck you want and don’t feel guilty about it! It’s not every day you get a birthday treat. šŸ™‚

    • L says:

      I’m sorry to say, but I doubt she ate cake… Have you seen how much she restricts. I’m not trying to be mean, but enough sugar coating things. Calorie restriction and “recovery” don’t go together, please stop the restriction girl!

      • Actually, I did share a (big) slice of vegan chocolate raspberry cake with my dad. I know that I still struggle with restriction, but I did treat myself a little yesterday and did it in a way that I felt comfortable with yet still didn’t feel like I was depriving myself.

      • Lilly says:

        good for you! keep it up, the more you push yourself the less of a hold your ED will have until you can finally eat like a normal person and just live life without regrets and restriction! Happy birthday!

  2. caloricandcrazy says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY GIRL :D!
    I’m already excited to hear about the recap. Have loads of fun :D!

  3. sarah says:

    Aww, HAPPY BIRTHDAY girl!
    You deserve to have such an awesome time, to get lots of treats AND to treat yourself.

    If I were anywhere near you I’d get you a Wholefoods cookie:).
    Xxx

  4. Emily says:

    Ahh! I hope you had a FABULOUS birthday! Enjoy every minute of your weekend. I can’t wait to hear all about it. ā¤

Comments are closed.