WIAW: Strange Combos

I’ve been doing a lot of pre-scheduled posts lately because I am actually in the process of moving! Well obviously not just me but my mom, dad and sister too. I don’t want to go into too many details about the move, but it’s not really major since we’re just moving about 20 miles from where we are now. It’s kinda bittersweet, though, since I’ve lived in this house since I was 12 and I’m in love with everything about the house, especially the location (it’s in a forested area that’s pretty quiet and secluded but gorgeous and nature-y). But since I’m now spending most of the year living in my college town, my sister’s off to college in two years and all the crappy bad economy stuff going on, my family’s downsizing and moving into town to save money on gas and house costs. It definitely makes sense but it’s gonna be hard getting used to sharing a bathroom with my sister and having a smaller kitchen!

Enough with the boring stuff, let’s move on to WIAW! I’ve been kinda slacking on the photo taking with all the packing and moving shenanigans I’ve been involved in but I have some random food pics that all have something in common–weird combinations. Sometimes I experiment and combine really strange foods together and it actually works out!

Breakfast: peanut flour brownie batter pancakes, blue corn blueberry pancakes with Amande blueberry almond milk yogurt and granola.

Pancakes–normal. But pancakes made with blue cornmeal? I decided to try out the blue cornmeal I bought to make quinoa cornbread in some mini pancakes. I mixed the cornmeal with oat flour and added some blueberries into the mix. They actually turned out tasty and had a different texture than typical pancakes. The almond milk yogurt on top was my first experience with nondairy yogurt and it was pretty good, but the texture is definitely different. It’s got a lot of calcium though–30% DV–which is always something I’m trying to get more of.

Lunch: multigrain pizza pita bread, baby carrots, green chile hummus, kalamata olives, artichoke hearts with nooch, tamari pumpkin seeds.

I was going for a Mediterranean-inspired lunch snackplate here. The tamari pumpkin seeds kinda threw that off since they’re more Asian though. The pizza pita bread was from some leftover Whole Foods multigrain pizza dough that I cut into thin-ish pieces. The hummus also isn’t really Mediterranean, and it’s not my favorite hummus either. I’m still on the hunt for the perfect hummus that I can pair with anything…any suggestions?

Alvarado Street sprouted sourdough toast topped with Crofter’s mango jam, sunny “raw”nola and maple macadamias.

This was kind of a tropical take on toast. The mango jam is the best jam I’ve ever had and it went perfectly with the macadamias and granola pieces. Kinda weird to have crunchy things on toast but I don’t care, it was delicious.

Dinner: spicy mac ‘n cheez (quinoa pasta, spicy nacho cashew cheez sauce, Mexican chipotle Field Roast vegan sausage), random kale salad with Bragg’s aminos/lemon juice, nooch, raisins and sunflower seeds.

The mac ‘n cheez isn’t the weird part, the kale salad is. I really don’t know how I came up with this combo but it worked. I took raw kale, massaged lemon juice into it, spritzed it with Bragg’s liquid aminos, dumped nooch on top and sprinkled on raisins and sunflower seeds. Completely random, but totally winning.

What are the weirdest food combos you love to eat? Have you ever tried almond milk yogurt?

15 thoughts on “WIAW: Strange Combos

  1. Strange combos are mostly the best ones! I love adding fruit to my salads,too,raisins are so perfect all the time! Lately,I added some fresh apricots to my salad,which was also very good. πŸ™‚

  2. Oooh mango jam sounds good! And I’m kinda diggin the idea of blue cornmeal pancakes, I would’ve never thought of such a thing!
    Some of my weird yet delicious combos– tuna and nut butter or scambled eggs topped with jelly πŸ˜€

  3. I understand about the move and I hope it’s going well for you guys. I know it has to be bittersweet to leave your home behind but at least you’re still close to people you know and not in a new state or part of the country. I guess that’s a plus. The spicy mac and cheese sounds really, really tasty too!

  4. caloricandcrazy says:

    the sprouted sourdough toast topped mango jam + nuts actually sounds like a yummy combo! πŸ™‚

  5. The moving chat is not boring at all Ashley! It’s a big deal, especially because you have been living there for so long! I hope everything continues to go as smoothly as possible πŸ™‚
    The mango jam sounds rather interesting to me, as does the ingredient for pancakes! I am all about strange combos πŸ™‚

  6. Hummus is def Mediterranean, just from the eastern side, like Israel and Lebanon. πŸ˜‰ And you should make your own! I like to roast 5 cloves of garlic wrapped in aluminum foil and then dump them in the food processor with a can of chick peas, 1/4 cup of lemon juice and enough olive oil to make it as creamy as you like. Easy!

  7. Oh man! Good luck with the move. That is such a stressful time. I remember when my family moved last year it was insaneeee. Your pancakes sort of look like chocolate chip muffin tops, which is really yummy. I want some!

Comments are closed.