Work It Out

I don’t mention a lot of fitness stuff on here, but that doesn’t mean it’s not a big part of my life! Especially during the summer I love to get outside and get my heart pumping with some fun workouts.

I will admit that I’ve fallen into the trap of ‘exercise guilt’–you know, like feeling bad that I’m not a runner or for not working out as hard on one day compared to the previous one. But honestly, exercise always feels better when it’s something you truly love to do and aren’t pushing yourself to enjoy it. And I’m slowly learning that taking a rest day every once in awhile is okay. I’m not so good at that part right now, but I know it’ll come. For now, here are some of the things I enjoy doing, guilt free!

Tennis

How embarrassing is this photo? I’m so glad I’m not 15 anymore!

This is probably my favorite physical activity at the moment. It’s fun because I do with my dad (and sometimes sister) so we can talk and laugh. I love outdoor exercise, and being out in the sunshine on a perfect summer day feels amazing. Tennis works your whole body (and mind!) but it doesn’t feel like a workout to me because I enjoy it so much.

Biking

Another old-ish photo (from 2 years ago) but at least I look okay in this one!

 

Biking is another of my favorites. I love how powerful I feel when I’m pedaling along a trail, feeling the breeze and sun on my skin. I have definitely experienced a few wipe-outs and not-so-great rides, but I keep coming back for more. I haven’t biked in about a month, since I haven’t had the chance to refill the tires with air, but I’m excited to get back on my bike and ride!

Yoga

I wish I had a cool pic of me doing a yoga pose…

Yoga keeps me centered, focused and (somewhat) flexible. I love how it stretches out my muscles when they’re sore and I am obsessed with the feeling of weak spaghetti arms after doing a bunch of chaturangas. I still have yet to go to a hot yoga class, but I’m dying to.

Cardio Circuits

This one is my favorite at the moment!

Most days I just end up doing a bunch of 10 minute cardio circuits throughout the day. I like them because they’re short but kinda intense and they’re basically equipment-free. I space them out throughout the day for time’s sake and also because I like being active throughout the day.

Hiking

Why yes, we do like to hike in the snow during the summer!

This one is definitely a summer-only occurrence but I always look forward to hiking. Colorado is an awesome state for it, and I’ve climbed a lot of (small) mountains in my life. My parents are really into it and have dragged me and my sister along since we were itty bitty and now I can say I truly love it. It feels great to get more in touch with nature (I’ve even seen a baby bear on a hike once!) and challenge myself on the trails.

What’s your favorite way to work out? Have you ever seen a scary animal on a hike?

20 thoughts on “Work It Out

  1. I’ve never seen a scary animal on a hike, but I’ve seen some snakes when running as well as deer. I have seen a few poisonous snakes, so I guess that was scary, but nothing like a bear or anything, at least! I love the pics of you exercising and I even think the tennis pic is cute :). Don’t let the blog community make you feel bad about not being super athletic into running or weights or anything like that- I’ll be the first to say it’s not for everyone, and at least you live an active lifestyle- so many don’t even do that!

  2. That’s awesome you saw a baby bear! I would die from all its cuteness. I wish I could hike, but Florida is flat so there’s really no where to hike. Some of my favorite ways to workout are long walks, circuits/weights, and skateboarding. Hope you enjoy staying active this summer! šŸ™‚

  3. Oh,I wish I could go on a hike with you,it would be so much fun! I just love being outside,discover the beauties of nature and AAAAW – a baby bear?! How cute is that?! šŸ™‚
    I love yoga,too,by the way,but I hate that I don’t even have a proper yoga mat. Boo. šŸ˜¦

  4. That’s so so cool you saw a baby bear on a hike!! I bet yall have some awesome trails up there in Colorado šŸ™‚
    The only exotic wild animal I’ve seen on a hike was a copperhead snake….it was SO creepy!

  5. I like the idea of going through cardio circuits throughout the day.. they add up of course and then you only have to commit 10 or so minutes at a time! I think I will try this soon Ashley šŸ™‚ No scary animals for me, glad you were safe of course!!

  6. Biking and hiking are great because you get to be outside and it doesn’t feel as much like dreary exercise as going to the gym does. I love trying new things like kayaking and snowboarding to keep it interesting. Keep playing tennis! You’ll thank yourself for it later in life. šŸ˜‰

  7. caloricandcrazy says:

    I love tennis! It’s such a fun sport, and I play with my Dad (and sometimes sis) too. Also had some fun times on my high school tennis team :)!

Comments are closed.