Saturday Seven: Do the Kale Hail

Heeeeeeeeeeeey guys! So did you make it through the week? Honestly, I almost thought I wouldn’t! I had a 4-day week because I played hooky from classes on Monday since I was still at home, so that was nice, but it was kind of hard diving right into things on Tuesday. Especially because I had two tests this week, a huge essay to write and all the usual assignments, plus a random floor meeting and a meeting for work both on the same day. Needless to say, I was super happy for this week to finally be over. Next week isn’t looking too crazy, which will be great, plus I’m headed home again next weekend and it’ll be busy busy but fun. I’ll let you all know what’s going down latah!

For now, let’s get right into another edition of Saturday Seven. I’m on a roll with these lately–I’ve done one every weekend I’ve been on campus since December!

1. Homemade is better than store-bought

You were delicious, but too expensive!

At least when it comes to kale chips. I mentioned that I ordered some Brad’s Raw Leafy Kale chips a couple of weeks back, and I finally got them a week ago. I also happened to make my first batch of baked kale chips that same day. Verdict? I loved my homemade ones more (even though they still need some tweaking). I’m blaming in on the particular flavor I got of the chips–they’re natural nacho, and they’re a little too strongly “cheezy” for me, especially since I haven’t had real cheese in a few years. Don’t get me wrong, they weren’t bad, just not quite what I was expecting. I love their crunch though. I would like to try another variety, like the Vampire Killer or Nasty Hot, but for now, I’ll be sticking with homemade. They’re so addicting!

2. T-minus 3 weeks…

I met Dory last year on my spring break...

Til spring break, of course! I don’t have any huge plans, but getting a 9 day break from school will be ah-mazing! Last year, I did end up doing a few fun things, like playing tennis, going to the aquarium, shopping and recipe experimentation (like a delicious vegan Philly “cheesesteak” sandwich) so hopefully I can do some of those things and more this time around. Actually, I really want to make at least one new recipe every day of break, so we’ll see how that goes down!

3. Small things are the cutest

These are brand new, and they look delicious!

I’m a huge fan of GardeinΒ products because they’re quick and easy, pretty healthy for faux meat, yummy and vegan! When I saw these little guys on their website, I was sold. I’m not even that big on products that imitate beef, but their beefless veggie burgers are one of my favorites. Plus sliders are just adorable, and each one has 9 grams of protein–score!

4. Apparently I like to recycle…

More than just a holder for delicious coffee.

I liked my Starbucks Valentine’s cup so much that I washed it out and decided to use it as a pencil holder on my desk. Way to get creative while being green, right? Plus it just looks cute.

5. I’m still learning how to text on my new phone

I absolutely love the case though!

I got my new phone at the beginning of January (a T-Mobile MyTouch, in case you were wondering) and I’m still struggling with the texting. I had a touch screen before this one and I also have an iPod Touch, so I thought it would be easy to learn, but not so much. I guess I’m trying to text as fast as I used to so I end up hitting the wrong keys. I’ll get it eventually though, and besides, I really love the phone. It’s an Android so it has web service, so I can check my email/the weather/Twitter during class. Oops, did I just say that? πŸ˜‰

6. A hair waver can work as a straightener

Wavy one day, straight the next...all with one tool!

I usually either straighten my hair or use my hair waver to enhance my natural waves. The other day I discovered that I can do both with the hair waver. Who knew? Now I don’t have to lug home both appliances on the weekend!

7. I’m so done with winter

It may look pretty, but I'm sick of it!

This winter has been pretty sucky here. At least compared to recent winters. January was actually alright and unseasonably warm for most of the month, but February hit and well, it’s been awful. For one thing, it’s been cloudy a lot, and that is really not normal for Colorado. I’m so used to sunshine year-round that it’s been kinda depressing. The cold and snow are another story altogether. February is usually in the 40s and sometimes 50s, but it’s been in the 30s and 20s most of the month, which is freaking freezing! I know some parts of the country have it worse, but I feel like we’ve just gotten the worst of the winter weather this year. I cannot wait until March and I’m hoping it comes in like a lamb, aka warm weather and sunshine! I miss my sandals, shorts and dresses!

What’s something you prefer homemade over store-bought? Are you looking forward to spring?

27 thoughts on “Saturday Seven: Do the Kale Hail

  1. Oh man I’m already so stoked for spring break too!! And warmer weather for that matter. I’m not a fan of having to bundle up all the time– shorts and flip flops come back!!! πŸ˜€
    Those mini burgers look yummy, I’ll have to hunt for some!
    Enjoy your weekend!

  2. I love homemade. Some store bought things I can’t even stand to eat.
    I used to have a star bucks cup that I used as a pencil holder but then I cleaned and it went away.
    I can’t wait for winter to be over, either. I am tired of the cold and the rain and snow. Bring on spring!

  3. Homemade is ALWAYS better. (:
    And I can’t wait to try those Gardein sliders! Anything that’s “mini” is sooo cute (and so much more fun to eat, for some reason)
    I’m seriously counting down the days until summer- I have been since winter started! I do not like cold weather AT ALL.
    Have a fabulous weekend! ❀

  4. I’m so obsessed with Gardein products because of you lol. I’m completely sick of winter here, too. We had a really nice winter up until I left for my half marathon and came back to snowy coldness…no bueno. Too little, too late, Colorado winter.

  5. I’m so done with the winter too! It’s too cooooold!

    I really love that Starbucks cup πŸ™‚ I think it’s makes a fantastic pencil holder!

    Yay for Spring Break arriving! I still have another six weeks to go 😦 I hope you have a fantastic time!

    Definitely homemade is better every time!!

  6. Homemade is actually ALWAYS better than store-bought! Rice pudding is a good example…. I hate the store-bought stuff,but I love self-made rice pudding a lot. ❀

    Such a great idea to use the Starbucks cup as a pencil holder! It really looks stylish and absolutely cute! πŸ™‚

    I also wish for it to be spring already… I hate the cold and grey weather outside… I need sunshine and flowers and birds singing…! I always feel better when the weather's good,too!

  7. I LOVE homemade kale chips. Brad’s Kale chips are good for on the go, but they just don’t beat the crunch and convenience of homemade. It seriously only takes 15 minutes for me to make them at home, and even if they aren’t raw they’re still good!

  8. Mmm homemade is definitely better! Well most of the time, for me at least! haha. I have had recipe disasters in the past where it would have just been better if I bought the dang thing. Although in this case, kale chips are great homemade! Also, I need to learn how to curl my hair with my straightener… I am so impressed you can do it! I have tried before and all that usually happens is I crink and fold my hair, not cute!

  9. I can’t believe spring break is already almost here! And agreed – I like winter (and this one has been mild) but enough is enough. I’m sick of my winter clothes, give me 60s/70s so I can switch to cuter, lighter styles!

  10. I totally agree, mini things are always cuter! I love the valentines starbucks cups, perfect as a pen holder! I’m so tired of winter too, but I keep hearing birds tweeting, and the days are getting longer…you know what that means?! SPRING is just around the corner πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.