WIAW: Flavor Flav

Hi my lovelies! What is up? I lovedΒ all your responses to my fashion blogging post–even if you aren’t the ‘fashion’ type, I really appreciated your feedback on what makes a good blog.

Peas and Crayons

Anyways, no, my WIAW title this week has nothing to do with the rapper–it’s just my super-lame way to say that this week’s edition is all about new-t0-me flavors. Like I mentioned in my recent Saturday Seven post, I love trying out new things and this week, I apparently tried out a few new combos and they did not disappoint! So lesssss go!

Breakfast: PBBH sandwich oats (aka peanut butter banana honey sandwich), topped with peanut flour paste, frozen banana slices, drizzle raw honey; unpictured veggie sausage

Ummmmm yeah…let’s just say I have yet another favorite oats combo. I don’t know where I came up with this idea, but it totally reminded me of a peanut butter banana honey sandwich and it. was. delicious. The combination of frozen banana chunks, thick peanut flour paste, creamy voluminous oats and a drizzle of my favorite honey was a magical one. This has just replaced my latest favorite, carrot cake oats!

Starbucks Christmas VIA Blend with AB unsweetened chocolate almond milk.

I have no lunch picture this week (and probably won’t for a while) because my class schedule forces me to eat on-the-go, hence I basically just scarf down baggies of Kashi GoLean, baby carrots, grapes or edamame. Not the most gourmet, but it gets the job done. Oh how I miss leisurely lunches at home…

Tuesday's outfit: pink cropped cardigan (A&F), navy lace-front tank with pinstripe waist tie (A&F Kids), slim boot jeans (American Eagle). The weird face is all me, sadly.

This week and last have been devoted to wearing all my brand-new clothes. I actually love that part of back-to-school–showing off all my new outfits. The tank top in the picture is the new piece, and I love it because it’s one of my few lace pieces, and it’s got an adorable bow around the waist. What’s not to love?

Snack: plain Stonyfield Oikos yogurt mixed with cinnamon and Truvia, topped with half a honeycrisp apple and a little Kashi GoLean.

I’ve been really enjoying plain Greek yogurt lately. Now hear me out. Plain doesn’t mean boring–it just means I buy the plain kind and then flavor it myself with cinnamon, dark cocoa powder, instant coffee–whatever. It’s more economical that way, plus I get more yogurt in a container. Win win! I loved this combo in particular because it had the crunch from the cereal and the sweet-tartness from the apple. Plus the amazing protein and calcium from the yogurt.

Dinner: vegan nachos.

Definitely not nachos in the traditional sense, but good nonetheless. I topped some Late July mild green mojo chips (the best chips, in my opinion) with some Whole Foods refried beans (with chile and lime) and some heated-up frozen grilled peppers from Target. Simple, delicious and a healthy way to get your Mexican fix.

Snack: Annie's pretzel bunnies, heaping teaspoon almond peanut cashew butter.

I’ve said it a million and one times, but again, I love the sweet-salty combo. Nothing better. The other night, I got the super-smart idea to dip pretzels in almond butter. Soooooooo tasty. I love Annie’s pretzel bunnies in particular, because they’re cute!

What’s your favorite way to eat pretzels? What’s the best flavor combo you just discovered?

30 thoughts on “WIAW: Flavor Flav

  1. Your outfit is so adorable, as usual!
    All of these combinations sound so yummy. Especially your oats!

    Pretzels with PB is definitely my favorite combination. And recently I also discovered graham crackers with PB- amazing!

  2. Oh my god,I love your outfit,Ashley! Incredibly cute! β™₯
    Pretzels and nut butter definitely is one of the best combos ever! I like to dip them in nut butter first and then finish it off with a bit of ketchup… Yeees,I knowyou hate it,but tomatoes are the BEST πŸ˜›
    By the way,I am so sad I can’t get those pretzel bunnies in Germany as I am such a sucker for cute food! 😦

  3. Kim @ Eat, Live, and Blog says:

    I actually love eating pretzel with nutella. It’s so addicting!! Love the sweet and salty combo too. πŸ™‚

  4. PB banana + honey oats just sounds so delicious!!! I’m definitely trying that one asap. I’m not big on pretzels so they only way I eat them is with cookie butter. Best combo EVER. Love your outfit btw!

  5. survivingcandyland says:

    Those oats look to die for. That is a combination I haven’t thought of yet. I’m totally going to have to steal it, so hope you don’t mind! You look so cute in your outfit, my fashionista friend. I especially love the pink bow.

  6. Lately I’ve been loving pretzels crumbled up into my yogurt messes!! I always buy plain yogurt, but sweeten and flavor it myself. Sometimes the added sugar in the flavored ones makes me feel a little nauseous just because they are SO sweet, so making it for myself usually works a lot better!

Comments are closed.