Jumping on the Bandwagon

Hi lovelies, how were all your weekends? I am beyond excited that it’s less than a week til Christmas, but I’ll save that excitement for later!

After having read a lot about NaNeFoMo (or National New Food Month) around the bloggy world, I decided to finally join in! Yes, I know it’s kinda late, but I have already made some progress and created a “bucket list” of things I’ve been wanting to try for a while.

Photobucket

1. Peanut flour. I finally sucked it up and ordered some online a couple of weeks back. This has changed my life, for real! I’ve had it practically on a daily basis since it first arrived in the mail (which is why I just had to order more!) and I’m definitely not sick of it yet. It makes an amazing paste, peanut sauce for stir-frys and salads, as flavoring for Greek yogurt and as a source of protein in smoothies. I even used it in place of flour in my festive garland bars. Definitely a new staple in my pantry!

The perfect topper for banana softserve and Puffins!

2. Chocolate chips. These were (and still are) a fear food of mine, so I thought they’d be perfect to include in my list. I bought some vegan chocolate chips at Whole Foods, used them in a few recipes and now I love them! Yes, they’re still scary, so I only eat maybe a teaspoon or so per day, but I don’t want to deprive myself of dark chocolate ever again!

Chocolate chips make an appearance in nutty cherry chocolate chunk cookies...recipe to come!

3. Making my own nut butter. Being home alone a week ago gave me the perfect opportunity to whip up a batch of homemade nut butter. But what kind to make? I had a bag of chopped pecans, so I mixed those up with some instant coffee powder, a little maple syrup and coffee maple pecan butter was born. You’re welcome πŸ˜‰

Simple combination, but oh so tasty!

4. Vegan marshmallows. Erm, well, not quite yet! I haven’t been able to find any in stores near me, so I decided to settle for some pescetarian marshmallows. Ummmm, say what? Yeah, marshmallows have gelatin in them, which is made from animals, but I was able to find some kosher ones, which means the gelatin is made from fish. Since I am basically a pescetarian right now, these are fine by me til I can find some truly vegan marshmallows.

5. Kombucha.Β This one is very scary to me. Not a fear food, in the eating disorder sense, but scary because A) they’re expensive and B) what if they taste horrible? I’ve still yet to take the plunge on this, but I’m hoping maybe I’ll get to sample it at Whole Foods or something and see if it’s worth the price.

6. More raw/vegan desserts.Β Every one I’ve attempted so far has turned out amazingly well (even if I am the only one who ends up eating them…oh well, more for me!) and I’d love to do more experimenting in the kitchen over the next month. Raw desserts can be kinda “scary” since they include lots of calorically-dense foods such as dates and nuts, but they taste so good and are so healthy for you compared to regular desserts. A few things I have in the works include raw salted caramel sauce, vegan peppermint bark and another variation on my raw brownies with chocolate peppermint avocado “buttercream” frosting. This month sure is looking delicious 8)

One of my favorite desserts ever--raw brownie pie with frozen raspberries and nonfat coffee froyo.

So that’s my bucket list so far–three things down, three to go! I’m proud of myself for conquering one fear food so far and I’m looking forward to trying out new things, especially the recipes. While I like to make “tried and true” type things, it’s always rewarding making something brand new and having it turn out amazing. And if it doesn’t, it’s not a huge deal!

Are you participating in NaNeFoMo? Have you ever made a raw dessert?

24 thoughts on “Jumping on the Bandwagon

  1. Yeeees,I am participating in NaNeFoMo,too! πŸ˜€ It’s such a great opportunity to conquer fear foods and discover new and tasty meals! Your bucket list is awesome,by the way! I’d still love to try your nut butter… It sounds spectacularly delicious!

    However,no,I have never made a raw dessert… I just can’t imagine it really tastes like a dessert in the end! πŸ˜›

  2. Ooh your nut butter sounds insanely awesome!!! I can’t wait to make some more over break too πŸ™‚
    Your bucket list is the bomb, and kudos to ya for knocking out so many already woohoo!

  3. All of these sound great! (Besides the Kombucha.) I really wanted to try it too until I went to the store and looked in the bottle to see freaking fetuses floating around the bottle. Sorry, I know that’s really gross and I hope I don’t scare you from eating it but I am scared just for looking at it! It’s too weird looking lol. I really wanna try vegan marshmallows though! And diary free chocolate chips <–more of a NEED because diary chocolate hurts my tummy!

    • Oh ewww that’s just gross! Honestly I’m not really sure I want to try it, I was definitely curious as to why a lot of people like it, but it just seems wrong and weird!

      If you have a Whole Foods nearby, they have some vegan semisweet chocolate chips that I really love and they’re fairly cheap!

  4. Every month is NaNeFoMo month for me!! I am always seeking out new things. I’m a rather adventurous either (except for meat, that’s not happening!) and I will try almost anything once! I tried kombucha over the summer. I have to admit, it was weird at first, but it grows on you! I finished the whole bottle really fast. Just go for it! If you don’t like it, you lost 3 dollars, but at least you tried πŸ™‚
    Peanut Flour is life changing!!! I am addicted to it, for baking or otherwise!

    • I agree, peanut flour has been one of the best investments I’ve ever made! It’s so worth it for all of it’s many uses. And I think because of that, I’ll give kombucha a shot–I was nervous at first about spending money on peanut flour but it turned out to be worth it and kombucha could be too!

  5. i’ve considered entering my exbulimic food designs into the fun, but i always run short on time and never finish the submissions! i’m interested in trying vegan marshmallows, too! x

      • Melissa says:

        There are two commercials brands of vegan marshmallows. Whole Foods should carry both or you can order online at places like veganessentials.com.

        Sweet and Sara is one brand. They’ll probably be near the bakery dept in WFM.
        Dandies is the other brand. They are most commonly found in the baking aisle.

        Dandies are air puffed and are great for cocoa and things like rice crispie treats. S&S are dense and gourmet tasting… so I eat them straight up! I just placed an order at her site for the following: pumpkin spice mallows, peppermint chocolate mallows, pecan cinnamon mallows and peppermint chocolate mallow bark! Mmmm.

        Highly recommend both brands as they are both fantastic is different ways.
        Links: http://sweetandsara.com/
        http://chicagosoydairy.com/dandies_vegan_marshmallows/
        http://store.veganessentials.com/vegan-marshmallow-products-c114.aspx

        Also, you might be interested in this. It’s a site about how people used veganism as a method of recovery from ED.

        http://www.choosingraw.com/green-recovery-the-plant-based-road-to-healing-from-disordered-eating/

        I’m EDNOS/exercise addicted myself (mostly recovered but things get shaky sometimes) and I’ve found that my veganism (which FAR predates my EDNOS – was vegan 6 years before I got weird about food. I blame an abusive marriage, messy divorce and 60 lb healthy weight loss that turned obsessive, not my veganism) actually has helped me, not made it worse.

        I have a friend who was actually hospitalized for anorexia. She’s also a long time vegan and her veganism and activism for animals were huge in helping her recover. She thought “this is stupid. I’m killing myself over my weight when there are more important things I could be doing. The animals need me. I need to recover and focus on that”. Hoo boy, has she! She’s a dynamo and a huge force for good in the world. She’s an inspiration.

        Instead of focusing on calories or myself and my body, I can focus on the animals. I focus on how much my diet helps them, how much it makes the world better and more kind and how delicious and nourishing the food is. Yes, even “junk” food like vegan marshmallows! Veganism is amazing when you’re doing it for the animals and not as a way to make ED behavior easier or food less scary. It’s a diet with so much integrity and compassion and thoughtfulness. Maybe finding a passion for those aspects of it will help you, too?

        Be well.

        • Thank you so much for your insight and the info about the marshmallows! I am definitely not mostly vegan because of my anorexia, but as a way to help me recover from it. It’s helping me break out of my food ruts and discover new, delicious foods.

  6. Yay! You’ve already made so much progress. Who cares if you joined the party a little late. πŸ™‚
    I have the vegan chocolate chips from Whole Foods too! They’re perfect for baking. I haven’t tried peanut flour yet but, according to everyone in the blogosphere, I need to. It sounds delicious.
    I can’t wait to see what raw/vegan desserts you come up with!

Comments are closed.