Saturday Seven: Sick of School

Aren’t you all pumped that it’s the weekend? To be honest, I’m actually not…because I have a lot to do this weekend, like a mini take home exam, making flash cards, a stats lab, working on a portfolio for my newswriting class and a meeting for a project that we’re presenting on Monday. So yeah, not the most fun weekend of my life, plus I am just itching to finish up this semester. Only 9 more full days on campus before I can leave for winter break–wahoo!

I think the worst time of any school year is coming back from Thanksgiving break. I got a week off from school, got to chill at home and enjoy a few shopping trips and Starbucks runs, as well as a fully stocked kitchen. Break went by wayyyyyy too fast, and then I find myself back at school, with three weeks left in the semester before an even longer break. By the time I got back, I was so used to being on break that it felt so weird to have to come back to school, but not in a good way like after summer break. More like a “I just can’t wait to be done” kind of way. Now that a week’s gone by, it’s back to normal for the most part, but I still can’t wait to be done with this semester. I remember back in elementary school when we used to have class parties and cookie exchanges right before Christmas break. Now it’s finals time, along with tons of projects and what-not. So stressful.

I have a week left of classes, which includes one random final thrown in there and a project presentation, then I’m supposed to be headed home for an extended weekend so my wonderful daddy can help me with my stats take-home final and then it’s back to campus for 3 days to finish up finals. Whew, I’m getting exhausted just thinking about it! Anyways, this edition of Saturday Seven is all about random things that are (somewhat) related to the end of the semester, so enjoy!

1. Why doesn’t Colorado have a Trader Joes?

I need these in my life ASAP!

I mean, really?! This is what I’m missing out on? Come on Colorado, you’re a beautiful state and all but you’re killing me with the lack of Trader Joes. And by that I mean, there are literally none in the entire state. I keep reading about all these wonderful-sounding seasonal TJs products on practically every blog, and I’m drooling in jealousy over here. Sometimes people say they rarely go to TJs because it’s like 90 minutes away from home or something–I am so deprived that I would gladly travel that distance to get my hands on these Candy Cane Joe-Joe’s, as well as the entire contents of the store. However, I did join the Facebook group Coloradoans for Trader Joe’s, so we’ll see where that goes…

2. Just call me a master decorator…

Isn't it purty, especially with all the snow outside? The stupid light reflection ruins it though.

…Or just tell me to keep my day job, since I obviously am no Martha Stewart. I just wanted to bring a little Christmas cheer to my room, so stringing Christmas lights and sticking window clings was the best I could do. Oh, and I also have a mini Christmas tree, decked out in the colors of my room (purple, pink and orange). Maybe I am an expert after all!

3. Pandora is my new best friend

I'm loving the Christmas music playlists!

Who needs someone to talk to when you have an amazing app that plays the music you want to hear? When thinking about finals is putting me in a craptastic mood, I just turn on a little Christmas music and I’m instantly 10 times better. And it’s putting me in the Christmas spirit (the big day, btw, is in 3 weeks!)

4. Starbucks VIA Christmas Blend and I have a little fling going on

Once I dump a bazillion packets of Truvia in you, you actually taste delicious.

I bought some Starbucks VIA Christmas Blend 2011 on a whim, having no idea what it’d taste like. I live on instant coffee when I’m at school, with no easy access to a real ‘bucks, and come finals time, it’s even worse. I first tried it at home, and couldn’t stomach it. I’m used to their instant coffee packets that have a little sugar and flavoring already blended in. This is just straight-up ground coffee, which I’ve basically never had before. I thought these would go to waste, until I put 3 packets of Truvia in a cup and it turned out pretty good. I could still taste the coffee, and this particular blend has actually grown on me, but it wasn’t so bitter. I’m planning on trying it with a little mint chocolate soy milk, which will hopefully be even better. Here’s to our newfound relationship, Christmas Blend!

5. My planner is becoming one big countdown book 

This is just one of many!

You do not want to know how many pages are devoted to counting down to break. I have a count down for every day on the daily part of the planner, plus several in the extra pages, including how many weekends left on campus and how many class hours are left. I am a desperate woman with too much time on my hands, that’s for sure! Except scratch that last part, I don’t have that much time to waste but I do it anyway. Sorryimnotsorry.

6. Why does every little thing become so stressful around finals time?

Just don't be this girl!

The stupidest things ever are stressing me out right now. Like I opened my fridge door and as usual, all the stuff in the door flew out, including my mint chocolate soymilk, which ended up spilling all over the floor. Awesome. I practically had a meltdown about it, and there’s still a stain on the carpet because I was too stressed out to properly clean it up. Or when my purple pen stopped working the other day, I almost teared up. It’s just a stupid pen. But really, the littlest stuff sets me off right now. You’ve been warned.

7. I miss my sweet potatoes

'Nuff said.

I’ve mentioned the apparent sweet potato shortage in my area before, but coming back from Thanksgiving break with only one sweet potato with me is a crime. Considering I enjoyed one probably 4 times over break just makes me miss them even more. I’ve only got one, so I’ve gotta make it count. Wow, how pathetic am I?

What little things have been stressing you out? What is your favorite TJs product (if you have one near you) or what would be your favorite product (if you had one near you)? 

33 thoughts on “Saturday Seven: Sick of School

  1. Aw,I perfectly know how you feel,believe me! I am SO stressed out at the moment,the upcoming week will be horrible: Two six hour-long exams,a job interview I am totally nervous about because it is so darn important for me AND my driving test on Friday which almost makes me cry because I am so scared. 😦
    I so much want the next week to be over!

  2. Gah I miss elementary school! I’d be making cute little crafts for Christmas, eating cookies, having a bunch of Christmas parties, and Christmas movie/story time! Those were the days… Oh and we NEED a TJ in south FL pleeease. Good luck on your finals though! You’ll do great! And you’ll be home in no time 🙂

  3. Going back to school after Thanksgiving break is the weirdest thing ever. Even just in high school I’m like, “this doesn’t make sense. Why am I here? Can I be on break again?” Plus I’m in yearbook and that is a whole new level of stress.
    I have a TJ nearby but I still haven’t gone to it. It’s a problem. I don’t have much free time.

  4. I am with you on SO many of these things!! Especially the not happy about the weekend because of finals thing….eww haha TJ’s needs to come to Colorado for you and Texas for me, Pandora Christmas stations have been my life, and I’m in love with your decorations! 😀
    Ps–my planner is a huge countdown too! Maybe you should make a countdown to your reunion with sweet potatoes heehee 😉

    • Ahaha good idea about the sweet potato countdown–I’ll make a special calendar just for that 😉

      We both really need a TJs in our lives! I really can’t believe there aren’t any in Texas, considering how many people live there!

  5. One of the most important things to me in my college search is the proximity of trader joes. I love that place. They have the best holiday stuff – I actually just went yesterday and picked up all kinds of goodies, including cookie butter and eggnog almonds! Sooo good. Good luck with finals and all the end of semester work. You’re almost done!!

  6. I definitely know what you mean about the time between Thanksgiving and Christmas being the worst! When I was in school I dreaded that month between the Holidays. I mean, who needs it anyways?! Best of luck with all of your work and finals prep. Just try to stay focused and it will be over before you know it!
    I’m really lucky because there’s practically a Trader Joes on every corner in LA. I’m so sorry that you don’t have access to one! That’s horrible- I can’t imagine living without it. All of their seasonal items are amazing right now.
    If you want, maybe we could set up a swap and I could send some TJ’s goodies your way! Just let me know. 🙂

  7. Hannah says:

    Hey Girlie!
    Where are you looking for your sweet potatoes? Everywhere I go I see tonssss! I was just at whole foods today and there were plenty to choose from. I hear ya on the pandora christmas music…can u say addicted?! Yes that’d be me right now. Hope you’re enjoying this crazy FoCo snow 🙂

    • I’m always looking for the ones that are in the plastic wrap so you can microwave them easily since I don’t have an oven to bake them in! But I will be on the lookout for them!

      Haha, this snow is insane, but at least now it feels more like “snow season” since it’s December.

  8. I completely understand about the awkward break! It is such a blah time anyway and then it’s made even worse by the amount of homework and exams that are all on our plates. But we are almost there though… just a few more days love 🙂
    I can’t blame you for wanting a TJs near you, they are amazin!
    Have a lovely Saturday girl

  9. caloricandcrazy says:

    I feel ya on the finals girl ;(
    I’ve got a bio final tomorrow, ochem + physics on tuesday, ANNNND a chem final on friday….ugh, school isn’t over for me until 3:01pm on friday -.-
    at least the next quarter doesn’t start for a month! 🙂

  10. survivingcandyland says:

    Girl I totally feel you pretty much on all of these. I hate not having a trader joes. We do have epic grocery stores in Austin, but we need a TJs to make life complete. Pandora is life. Especially on the Iphone. I don’t know what I did without it. I decorated my apartment too with pink and black ornaments. Its pretty legit.

    You can survive finals! I just keep telling myself that otherwise I will realize that I have been studying my butt off and freak out because I will have convinced myself that I don’t know everything, even though I secretly do. I’m crazy. Haha.

    • Haha I know what you mean about the finals! Deep down I’m honestly not even that freaked out about them but I feel like I have to be otherwise I’ll do badly on them!

Comments are closed.