WIAW: Compare & Confess

Hi everyone πŸ˜€ How was your weekend? Ehhhh, mine was nothing special but sometimes stuff’s gotta get done and it’s not fun but it feels so much better when you finish it.

Peas and Crayons

Do you ever have weeks when you take food pics and you think, “Awwww man, I gotta pick just ONE of these pictures for each meal! But a lot of them are really good!” That’s how I feel a lot, so I decided that for this weeks WIAW, I’m going to do a little ‘comparison game’ or whatever and post 2 pictures for each meal instead of just one. And for even more fun, I’m gonna add in a little confession session that I saw on Amanda’s blog recently. So here we goooooooooo!

Monday's breakfast: carrot cake overnighters topped with drippy AB and raisins, spicy veggie sausage, gummy vitamins. Yurmmmmm πŸ˜‰

Tuesday's breakfast: cake batter oats (with sprinkles!), spicy veggie sausage (do I even have to mention this?), gummy vitamins, gummy calcium chew. I felt like a kid eating this breakfast, because it had sprinkles and gummies! No shame, though.

Confession: I don’t like PB. Errrrrr…please don’t attack me 😯 !!!!!!!! I honestly have not had peanut butter in years, probs since elementary school, and even then I wasn’t a huge fan. I actually prefered just-jelly sandwiches to just-peanut butter ones. Yes, crazy I know but that’s just me. But I’m not a nut butter hater by any means–almond butter wins my heart! It’s just…IDK, so much richer and yummier than PB, in my opinion.

Sunday's lunch: Amy's low-sodium Cali veggie burger spiked with curry powder, with carrots, raisins and frozen nanner slices on the side. A more traditional lunch.

Monday's lunch: Oikos Greek yogurt cup in honey, peanut butter Puffins (addiction!) and date. Sometimes (errrr, all the time?) you just gotta satisfy the sweet tooth.

Confession: I’m not a runner. I know that it seems to be some sort of prerequisite or something to be a health/food blogger, but I’m just not into running. I really admire people that are hardcore runners for XC teams or do marathons all the time, but it’s not for me. My “sports” of choice are tennis, mountain biking and yoga. And that’s okay, ’cause everyone’s different (and I’m totally not dissing running, bee-tee-dubs). Whatever floats your boat is what I say.

Outfit of the day, as per usual: cropped denim jacket (birthday present), red floral romper (Hollister). I thought I looked cute, until I had to go to the bathroom, and realized I had to take off the jacket and the romper. Yikes. Talk about high maintenance.

...and, random tickets to the gun show! Bahaha, just kidding. I'm not sure why this is in here, but I'll roll with it. I still struggle with thinking my arms are HUGE, but I'm working on it. Body by yoga, people!

Confession: I actually read the newspaper on a daily basis. Call me crazy, but I like to stay informed. Plus I basically only read the lifestyle, food, fitness and comic sections πŸ˜› Plus I’m a broadcast journalism major, can ya blame me? Of course this means I watch the TV news too!

Monday's afternoon snackie: Late July Mild Green Mojo multigrain chips (aka my crack), frozen nanner slices (when will these run out?) and homemade Greek yogurt/guac dippage. Sometimes my savory tooth comes out of hiding and I gotta tame it.

Tuesday's afternoon snackie: PB Puffins (told ya they're addicting) alongside a dark chocolate almond butter fudgie. You can't go wrong with this flavor combo.

Confession: I would usually rather do something with my family than with people my own age. Since high school’s been over, it’s been kinda hard for me to really connect really well with other people that are the same age as me. I feel like a granny compared to them, because I’d rather go to bed early (11 pm or midnight) and wake up early-ish (8 am…well, early compared to most college kids) and I absolutely hate partying. Unfortunately, I’ve mostly found that everyone around me wants to party down every weekend. Different strokes for different folks, I guess. No thanks, I’d rather remember my college years and actually get a career when I graduate, so partying isΒ a no-go for me, plus it’s not that fun. Plus, I really love my fam–they are amazing, they ‘get me’ and we always manage to have fun together.

Monday's later-than-usual dinner (due to random floor meeting): Whole Foods spicy black beans, half toasted Ezekiel tortilla topped with spicy guac, side of mango and pineapple. I thought I'd love the beans, but I wasn't a fan. They weren't so much spicy as they were, um, tomato-y. Disappointed, but next time I'll just rinse off all the sauce and call it good.

Tuesday's dinner (sorry about the awful lighting, it's starting to get dark when I eat!): big honkin' sweet potato topped with agave almond butter dip and trail mix, frozen tropical fruits. I wonder why I haven't turned orange yet, with all the carrots/sweet taters/mango I eat?

Confession: I have a weird addiction to medical mystery shows like Mystery Diagnosis. I think a part of me wants to be a doctor of some sort, but the other part of me totally hates math and science so…nah! I just find these shows so fascinating, but they also kind of make me go all OCD and worry that I might have some of the same symptoms and wait years for a correct diagnosis. Yeah, I’m a big worrier!

Monday's dessert: second ever experience with deep chocolate Vitatops...sooooo amazing! I love how the chocolate chips get all melty when you heat up the muffin. A side of raisins for good measure (plus I'm obsessed with them).

 

Um, sometime-last-week's dessert: dark chocolate overnighters topped with chocolate apple crunch trail mix, with the ever-popular frozen nanner slices on the side. You can't go wrong with chocolate, trail mix and banana.

Confession: I have a may-jah sweet tooth. But, uh, I think y’all already knew that πŸ˜‰

As if you needed more evidence of my sweet tooth (seriously, I must have something sweet at every meal, whether it's just fruit or cereal or something), here's Sunday's entire dinner: PB&J Remix overnighters (topped with PB Puffins and raisins, for the PB and jelly), bloobs on the side. I don't do oats for dinner usually, but I gotta admit that I love them.

Quick, give me one confession! And…did you enjoy the gun show πŸ˜‰ ??????

20 thoughts on “WIAW: Compare & Confess

  1. buttonss - Cherie says:

    I am sooo putting sprinkles on my oats!! Best idea everrrrr!

    Oh my gosh, cute romper, or as we call them, play suit~!!
    I have this awesome leotard i like to wear in summer, when it got cooler I started wearing a cardigan with it. one day I didnt wear a bra either, I got no bewbs anyway… so when i went to the toilet I had to take off the cardigan and pull down the leotard, so i was basically on the toilet naked. wooh!

    Eep I can totally relate to the party confession!
    Our legal age is 18 here, and once I turned 18 i was a party animal drinking all of the time, always going out. then this year I’m really over it. i dont want to go out, or drink, it makes me feel shit anyway. I would prefer family fun than with friends. And for going to bed at 11pm, I go to bed at 10pm and wake up at 5 everyday. So if im at a party I’m the one falling asleep in their chair at 9:30 hahaha.

    Is that trail mix ON the sweet potato? Another good idea yet again.

    Anyway sorry about the super long comment:P

  2. I never thought of putting sprinkles on my oats..but I MUST try it! Sounds delish! πŸ™‚
    Confession: I have a bad habbit of always wanting to watch TV while I eat. I rather sit on the couch all compfy than in a chair to eat πŸ˜›
    Confession: I am a cereal monster! I’ve been through two boxes of cereal in one and a half days before.. shhh! πŸ˜‰

  3. Nothing wrong with having a sweet tooth. I have one, too, and I’m working on it. And I’m not really a runner either. If I can run on a treadmill that’s fine, but my neighborhood and the weather where I live just turns me off to the whole idea.

  4. Wooo! YES to loving AB over PB! I might be biased due to the whole allergy thing, but I adore AB, and it makes me smile to see other people who do too πŸ˜€ ANd I agree that running seems to be pretty popular in the healthy living community, and while I do enjoy short runs, I could never be a hardcore runner. I get a bit bored after a while, and my knees don’t appreciate it either. I’d much rather do some sort of HIIT workout or lift weights. And a sweet tooth? I have a whole mouth full of em πŸ˜€

  5. Oh, I would have had a hard time chosing only one meal to have too- ALL of your looks so good! I love how each and everyone of them have many different things in them!
    I know how you feel about feeling older! When i was in high school, I was not a party girl AT ALL! And I felt so weird for rather spending my Saturday night with my parents, than at a party! But as Ive gotten older, I find that most of my friends are getting a lot more stay-at-home-girls too. And that I really enjoy going to partys from time to time . So now I do both πŸ™‚
    And also, so with you on not liking PB. I dont hate it at all, but I prefere almond, cashew or whatever else πŸ™‚
    Happy Wednesday sweetie ❀

  6. Thanks for inviting me to the gun show πŸ™‚ haha. I can’t believe you don’t like pb!! Crazyyy. I also don’t think it’s necessary for everyone to be a runner – I love reading about different kinds of sports and exercise because I already know so much about running. My cousin races in mountain bike races for Durango college (I think that’s what it’s called) and I’ve always been fascinated!!

    Confession: I’m a man. no actually uhhh I don’t like discussing my deep thoughts and feelings, yet it’s the basis of two of my classes this year. Time to bull shit.

  7. I feel you on being old for your age. I’m not into partying much either and I like to go to bed around 1030 and wake at 6 or 7. So much for normalcy. I find it hard to connect to people my own age, but that’s what the blog thing’s for right? haha. I think we’d get along.
    I’ve been craving tennis lately, let’s play!

    • I think we would get along! I think the same thing about the whole blogging community, everyone has so much in common it’s crazy!

      I’d love to play a match πŸ˜€ It’s been a month or so since I last played 😦

  8. haha- I flipped when I read you didn’t like peanut butter! But, then I saw that you loved almond butter and was okay- I thought that you meant you didn’t like nut butter in general!! xP
    &I would also rather hang out with the family, I’m a home-body. I love being at home and just relaxing with the family. Yeah its fun to hang with friends once in a while but I can only take so much

    • Ohhhhhh no, I LOVE almond butter, so no worries there πŸ˜‰ I’d love to try other nut butters too, like the sunflower seed butter I’ve seen you have!

      I know what you mean. I think I just love doing low-key things most of the time, so being with my family usually works out better for me but if I want some excitement I’ll def go out with friends.

  9. Confession: I can relate to almost all of these!! The one that really stuck out to me was preferring to hang out with your family… I am the same way girl! Especially my mom, she is my favorite date anywhere haha
    I definitely prefer almond butter too! PB actually gives me a bit of indigestion… sorry TMI!

    • I love finding out how much I have in common with someone else! That’s so cute that your mom is your favorite date–I love being with my mom, too! Psssh, who needs guys? πŸ˜‰

  10. B says:

    Hey! Just found your blog and can totally relate to your party confession (among others- not the PB though, meh). I had to check and I am actually a little older than you, but have felt the same way you do the whole way through college. Haha, confession: many of my friends are the wild (very very wild) partiers. πŸ™‚ Work hard, play hard types I suppose.

    Since this is not your newest post (oops!) I think you have a hairline fracture. Best to stop putting pressure on it and let it heal a few days or a week. I had one from running 😦 Hopefully yours heals quick!

    • I am so glad someone else doesn’t like to party it up either!

      Ohhhhhhhh no, I was kinda worried that that might be the issue. Thanks for the advice and good wishes–and for stopping by my blog!

Comments are closed.