Gettin’ My Schweat On!

I. Love. Sweat. Okay, just kidding, I’m usually completely grossed out by it (and no worries, I use deodorant daily!) But if the sweat comes from working out, then I love it. It makes me feel like I’ve been working hard and I’m getting stronger.

Pre-bike ride. Maybe too much navy blue?

One of my favorite ways to “get my schweat on” (and yes, you must say it that way. okay, just kidding, but it sounds a million times better like that) is biking. I’m not quite a hardcore cyclist yet but I love hittin’ the trails for some pedal pushin’. Honestly, I can pronounce my “g’s”, it just sounds cooler without them. But I’ve been kinda slacking on the bike riding this summer. Okay, so I did do a 7-miler bike event at the beginning of June and I also did a 4-miler in the middle of June, but things have been pretty dead as far as biking goes. It’s not like I’ve been lazy all summer–I’ve just been mostly playing tennis, which I’ve been loving, but I missed biking.

My "just did 4 or 5 miles" face. Please ignore the messy hair.

Today, my dad and I hit a new greenway trail.It started out fairly normal, some small hills, but nothing too bad. It was pretty quiet too–not many others were on the trail. Then we got to a major street and had to cross it in order to keep riding. No biggie. So we crossed and then kept riding…until we got to an even more major street. Silly us, we thought it would be the same deal–we’d cross at the nearest stoplight and continue on our way. Wellllllll…that’s not quite how it worked out. The sign directed us up the hill to cross at a different light, because apparently the closer light didn’t have a sidewalk so we couldn’t get to it. So we went up the hill–me pushing my bike because I was freaked out by all the cars whizzing by a couple of feet away. We finally make it up the hill (after passing by some super sketchcar repair shops), wait to cross and then make our way back down the hill on the other side of the street. At the bottom of the hill, we see the trail sign again and try to follow it. Fail. We end up walking behind a creepy closed-down building trying to find where the trail starts up again but there is my trail. Then my genius dad (sense the sarcasm there? sorry, Daddy, you’re usually very smart, but in this case, not so much) takes a closer look at the sign and realizes that the rest of the trail will be built in the future. Yep, we’re so smart for not reading that earlier. So, long story short, we walk back up and down the hill and finally head back to the trailhead.

Oh yeah, and we also went to a local parade this morning, and this is what I wore. Abercrombie Kids plaid tunic top, Hollister navy cami, Hollister navy twill shorts, American Eagle chain-and-diamond necklace. Forever 21 love ring.

Well, I didn’t notice it on the way there, but it was definitely downhill heading out. So what does that mean? Uphill heading back. Awesome. Actually, it wasn’t too bad, but I had blisters on the back of my heels from walking up and down the hill, it was super hot and my head was killing me. But I made it up each and every one of those hills. So proud of myself. Needless to say, I definitely got my schweat on this afternoon. But it was totally worth it to feel amazing and sweaty–not to mention grabbing some froyo afterwards! We checked out yet another brand new frozen yogurt shop and they were offering a 2-for-the-price-of-1 deal today, so it was cheap-o! Unfortch, I didn’t have a camera with me but I got marshmallow and Irish mint froyos topped with kiwi and raspberries. Hit. The. Spot.

Okay, so def not froyo, but I had to get a foodie pic in here somewhere, right? This was an amazing Whole Foods salad I had last weekend when I picnicked and hiked. Baby spinach, red onions, craisins, maple-glazed pecans and mandarin oranges. The dressing was nast so it went uneaten, but the salad was so good, it didn't need it!

How do you like to “get your schweat on”?

4 thoughts on “Gettin’ My Schweat On!

  1. buttonss - Cherie says:

    Aww youre such a cuttttieee. ♥ I love that you also rock a side pony tail like I do.
    That hair style is my fave 😀

    Ahaha ‘built in the future’ I bet youre not the only ones who mis read that part.
    Man, what is wholefoods? like a giagantically awesome health cafe? or what.

    I like to get my sccchweat on by running! I agree with you, I LOVE workout sweat.
    And I always feel so good after a long schweaty run.

    • Thanks girlie! I love the side pony too–you always look so cute in it!

      Oh my gosh, Whole Foods is so amazing! It’s basically this giant health food store but it also has a cafe part and tons of free samples and what not. It’s my favorite store 😀

  2. I get my schweat on by running and lifting weights! Mostly running though. When I first broke my toe I had to swim and I didn’t feel like I got an adequate workout because you don’t get all sweaty in the pool! I was winded for sure, but it just didn’t feel right to not be drenched in sweat!
    That whole foods salad sounds and looks really good to me! Just as beautiful as froyo!

Comments are closed.