Estes Park Day 2

Hey everyone! If you missed my last post on the first day of my vacation, click here to catch up!

Sunday I woke up bright and early around 9, ready to start the day with some breakfast. I don’t think I’ve ever missed eating breakfast since I first started eating–it’s definitely my favorite meal ever and an amazing way to welcome a new day. Unfortch, I wasn’t able to have my beloved overnighters (my new nickname for overnight oats…cute, huh πŸ˜‰ ) but don’t worry, they made a reappearance once I got back home. However, I was able to try a new-to-me cereal, Puffins Multigrain puffs. I loved that these were lightly sweet, full of fiber and were tri-colored! Puffins are one of my favorite cereal brands, but I’ve yet to try the Peanut Butter & Chocolate variety. Tori, I’m jealous of you right now πŸ˜€ I also had some mini pancakes (yay for little kid food!) and my usual sausage.

After the fun times that is breakfast, we headed straight over to the Lake Estes marina. Nope, no boating/fishing was involved (though it has been in past years. I haven’t gone kayaking since my mom and I got stranded two years ago near the barriers that separate the lake from the dam. Scary stuff, I tell ya!) but we did rent some pedal carts and biked pedaled around the lake. It was a nice little ride, but not really that strenuous. If you asked me sister, though, she would have said it “was the hardest thing she’s ever done”. Not quite sure if that was sarcasm, but it does run in the family…

 

Me and the sister pedal-carting it

 

Lake Estes

 

Meanwhile, back at the ranch condo, we hit up the pool! Probably the main reason we go to Estes (haha, JK!), but really, I love me some pool time. The place we used to stay at had a great outdoor pool…however, it was always crowded and FREEZING. No joke, it was probably 70 degrees, which sounds warm, but isn’t if you’re talking about pool water. This new place has an even better outdoor pool, namely because there are fewer people and it feels like bath water, but also because it’s more scenic. You can look up while swimming laps to see towering mountains and blue skies. Amazing. Well, unfortch, Sunday wasn’t the best day to go to the pool, because it was inhabited by little kids (nothing against them, but boy can they splash!) and also the storm clouds rolled in early. Basically, I spent 10 minutes in the pool before we had to go inside. No bueno, but at least I got some tanning time in!

 

The pool!

 

By the pool with my sis (yes, I do have hair!)

 

Later that afternoon, my parents dragged me and my sis to one of the wineries in town. They’reΒ not actual wineries with grapes and stuff growing outside, but small buildings where you can sample local wines and where they steep (?) the wine. Trust me, I know nada about wines and such. Basically, the sister and I sat outside in the blazing sun and had some fun with the ‘Fail’ app on her iPod. We’re mature, I know πŸ˜‰

Then it was off to dinner, at one of my favorite EP restaurants–Grubsteak. They have a lot of vegetarian options and even exotic stuff, like yak and elk meat. I stayed away from the weirder things and ordered the Jalapeno and Jack burger, minus the Jack because I don’t do cheese and I got it with an original Sunshine burger. I’ve never tried a Sunshine burger before, and the verdict is: delicious! I never realized they were so thick and hearty, which is so different from other veggie burgers I’ve had. The jalapenos on my burger seemed fresh, which was great because I hate pickled jalapenos. If we go there again, I will definitely be ordering the same thing, it’s just too good to pass up.

 

Yummy vegan burger

 

We returned to the condo briefly, and then headed back into town to get dessert. I’d heard of this place that had baked goods as well as a cereal buffet, and I couldn’t pass that up! But…it was closed since it was late so we wandered further down the street intoΒ a place that served ice cream and cupcakes. I didn’t end up getting anything, because they had no gelato/froyo/sorbet but my fam seemed to enjoy their flavors. My sister got peppermint s’mores, which sounds like an awesome combo. I’ve gotta come up with an overnighters recipe for that…

What do you eat for breakfast when you’re on vacation? Ever had a Sunshine burger (if so, what flavor do you recommend)?

More to come!

13 thoughts on “Estes Park Day 2

  1. Woo! I love vacation. It looks like you’re having so much fun!

    I’m with you on the missing breakfast thing when you’re away from home. I can’t really tell you what I eat when I’m on vacation, though- I actually bring the ingredients for my overnighters WITH me. HAHA!

    I hope you can find the PB / chocolate Puffins soon! Yummmm.

    • Ooh, that’s actually a good idea! Definitely going to remember that for my next trip.

      I hope I find the Puffins, too! I think I’m gonna hit up different stores until I find it haha.

  2. sunshinevegan says:

    Thanks so much for the sweet supportive comment you left on my blog! I’m so happy I found yours πŸ™‚ looks like you’re really enjoying your vacation!

  3. Love Sunshine burgers! I also recently discovered them when I had to go Soyfree! I like the Southwest the best, though I want to try more.

  4. I’ve never tried the puffins multigrain! I do have the chocolate pb variety, and i have to say, they need to just make the chocolate ones. i was always searching the box for them! I only had sunshine burgers once before.. it was a falafel burger! It was pretty good, but I’d rather have real falafel.

    looks like a fun vacation.. i wish i was lounging poolside like you!!

    • I’ve seen the falafel one before and I thought it looked good but I think I’d prefer actual falafel, too.

      My one requirement for a vacation is that there’s gotta be a pool, lake or ocean to swim in and lounge by!

Comments are closed.