I’m Back!+Estes Park Day 1

Hey everyone, I’m back from my vacay! I’m kind of sad that I missed out on WIAWย this week, but I had soooooo much fun on my vacation (to Estes Park, CO) that it was worth it. I was away from the computer for almost 5 days and I was surprised that I barely missed it at all. I did have my iPod Touch, but most of my vacation was spent disconnected from technology and it was fantastic.

We left early Saturday afternoon. Before we hit the road, I dragged brought my dad with me to the local farmer’s market. My city has a lot of farmer’s markets but I’ve never been to one and this one was kind of in our neighborhood so we decided to check it out. It wasn’t that impressive, honestly. It was pretty tiny, with only a few tents scattered in a parking lot. I expected a lot more fresh produce, but there was only one tent selling fruits and veggies and they were mostly from the store. LAME! But one tent had some adorable kitties available for adoption (sadly, we didn’t get one). We did end up buying some homemade raspberry habanero jelly–I tried it and it is dee-lish! It’ll make some interesting AB&J sandwiches, that’s for sure.

Mama and baby kitties

They had a lot of homemade jams there!

When we got up to Estes Park a few hours later, we unpacked our stuff at the condo we were staying at, hung out a little while and then headed out to dinner! Our tradition every year is to go to Poppy’s Pizza on the first night of our vacay. Poppy’s isn’t a typical greasy pizza joint–they actually have a ton of fresh ingredients, several vegetarian/vegan options and interesting combinations. Since I don’t eat cheese, I went for their hummus pizza. Oh man, was it good! I’ve had it a few other times but I don’t think I’m going to be branching out anytime soon ๐Ÿ˜‰ The pizza had thick but not too thick crust, homemade hummus for the ‘sauce’, chopped tomatoes, spinach and Kalamata olives. It’s really simple but really good. I was only able to eat half the pizza (it was an individual sized one) but it made perfect cold leftovers for lunch.

My amazing (and vegan!) pizza

We walked around town for a little bit and then grabbed a dessert. Estes Park has tons of ice cream places, which isn’t really my thing, but most of them have a sorbet or froyo flavor or two so I can get that. The place we went to was packed so we had to wait a little while to get our cones, but it was worth it. I got a scoop of strawberry guava sorbet in a sugar cone and it was one of the best sorbet flavors I’ve ever had. I was so glad they ran out of the raspberry sorbet and I had to get this flavor because it was amazing.

We hit up Safeway to pick up some fresh fruit and a few other things. Going to Safeway on the first night is another one of our traditions (don’t ask me why). The store was playing some music over the loudspeaker and me and my sis cracked up twice when two different people started singing along to the songs. The store was pretty busy, too, so I guess the singers were confident ๐Ÿ˜›

The rest of the night was spent chillaxing back in the room, watching the news and getting ready for bed. I was pretty tired, but excited to actually start my vacation.

More to come tomorrow!

Do you have any vacation traditions?

3 thoughts on “I’m Back!+Estes Park Day 1

Comments are closed.