Bad “Raw”mance

I mentioned in my last post about my obsession with  love of Lady Gaga’s songs, especially her newest album. But you can’t forget “Bad Romance”, her extremely popular hit from her previous album. I may have forgotten to mention my new obsession with making raw desserts. I say once you go raw, you never go back 😉 Okay, maybe that’s a little extreme but it’s true for me, as far as making desserts goes. I love making them from scratch, but before I discovered raw versions, I always struggled in the baked goods department. Nothing ever turned out quite right (probably because of my many, many substitutions!) and I was getting frustrated. Then I found an amazing recipe for raw brownies and I just had to try them! They turned out amazing and my obsession was born!

Raw brownie pie topped with nonfat coffee froyo and frozen raspberries

 My first foray into raw brownie making wasn’t so successful (though it was yummy) and I decided to look for another recipe. I stumbled upon a pretty simple one, from here, and of course made some changes to it to make it my own. Here’s my recipe for raw brownie pie…

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

1/2 cup mint chocolate roasted almonds

1 cup dates

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder (use Hershey’s Special Dark if you have it!)

1 banana

1 tbsp crunchy almond butter

Mix walnuts, almonds, dates and 1/4 cup cocoa powder in food processor. Spread into bowl or square pan. Pulse banana, remaining cocoa powder and almond butter in processor until smooth and liquidy. Spread chocolate banana almond ‘frosting’ on top of brownie batter and place container in freezer. Cut into 8 small slices (or 6 larger ones) and enjoy!

I loved those so much that I had one every day until they were gone (that was a sad day 😛 ). Today I attempted a second batch of brownies that didn’t turn out so well (the regular cocoa powder isn’t as yummy 😦 ) so I decided to try a brand new recipe, adapted from here… this time for raw blondies! OMLG (Oh My Lady Gaga 😉 ), these are even yummier than the brownies! The cinnamon almonds really made these stand out. I haven’t actually eaten a full one yet but I’ve tasted the batter and it was heavenly! If you love regular baked blondies, you will LOVE these. Raw desserts are so dense and nutritious, and this particular one has only 100 calories per square!

Raw Blondie Instagram closeup

 These are so easy to make and just require a food processor. Here’s my recipe…

3-100 calorie pack almonds (cinnamon roasted or original)

8 dates (I used a mix of California pitted and Medjool)

1/2 scoop vanilla protein powder (I used Soytein)

1 tsp honey (optional)

1 tbsp almond butter

Mix almonds and dates in food processor with about 1/4 cup water until mostly smooth. Add in protein powder, honey and almond butter until combined and thick. Spread blondie batter in square dish and cut into 8 squares. Refrigerate or freeze until ready to serve.

I just can’t get enough of the raw desserts! I’m thinking a raw chocolate raspberry mousse is gonna be next…

Have you ever tried a raw dessert? Are you Team Brownie or Team Blondie (my delicious blondies switched me over to the light side)!

6 thoughts on “Bad “Raw”mance

  1. I’ve never had a blondie, can you believe it? So I guess I’ll have to be team brownie. But I actually prefer the batter over the brownie so I’m team brownie batter 😉

Comments are closed.