{Cake} Batter Up!

Summer is my favorite season for sooooo many reasons! #1, it’s warm and sunny most days. I would love to live somewhere that the weather’s like this year round, but for now, one season of great weather is good enough. #2, I’m basically free. I know this will definitely change when I graduate from college and have to find an actual job, but I’m enjoying my mostly committment-free summers while they last. AndΒ #3, my birthday is in the summer. That’s one thing that will never change and I really love having my birthday in the summer. I can always go somewhere fun to celebrate, like the water park, while my sister (whose birthday is in December) always has indoor parties. Being able to go on a waterslide on my birthday makes up for people never decorating my locker for my birthday πŸ˜›

Even though my birthday is a month and 15 days away, I was still in a birthday-y (is that even a word?) mood, so I decided to whip up a batch of… CAKE BATTER WAFFLES for mi familia. I made them a week ago for the first time for myself and I absolutely loved them, so I thought they probably would too. And the best part is that they don’t even seem healthy, but they actually are! They have almost 9 grams of protein per waffle and are full of fiber (and sprinkles πŸ˜€ )

Here’s how to make them (this recipe makes enough for 6 people, or you can split them in half like I do and freeze them for later): 1 1/3 cup pancake mix (I used Nanacakes Oatmeal mix–6 grams of protein per 1/3 cup and 3 grams fiber…woohoo!), 2 scoops vanilla protein powder (I used Soytein, but P.S. it turned the batter a little green), water (about 1-1/2 cups), 3 tsp sprinkles.

Mix all the ingredients together in a bowl until batter is swirled with color from the sprinkles and is thin enough to drip off a spoon. Heat a waffle iron (or you can make these as pancakes on the stove) and spray with nonstick cooking spray. Scoop batter onto iron and cook until golden brown, about 3-5 minutes. Serve with real maple syrup,Β light whipped cream (like Whole Foods brand)Β or even more sprinkles. And pretend like it’s your birthday–I won’t tell πŸ˜‰

I wish I would have the patience to do a food photo shoot but sadly I don't...

Have you ever made anything cake batter-flavored (besides actual cake batter, duh!)?

