The BIG Day!

Well, I can officially say that I’ve completed my first official bike event! WOOHOO!!!!!!!!!!

It was a lot of fun, exciting and tiring all at once. I mentioned in my last post that it was a 7 mile ride and before I did it, I thought it would be super easy. I’ve ridden that far before, it can’t be that bad, right? I wouldn’t say it was bad, it was just…challenging. There were a few steep hills but one giant “killer” hill. Okay, that’s an exaggeration, but it was hard. Colorado is not a flat state AT ALL! I took a few quick breaks but I didn’t get off my bike and walk it once! I am so proud of myself. For pretty much the entire course, I was way ahead of my dad. But he did really well on the killer hill and didn’t even stop once, so I’m proud of him too. The ride was a really good experience and I really want to do more rides like that this summer, but hopefully work my way up to a longer distance.

Me, pre-ride

 I didn’t even mind getting up early (6:45 😦 ) because I had so much fun. It just felt so rewarding to participate in something that big because I’ve never done anything like that. We even got race numbers and everything 😀

Post-ride was amazing too! They had tons of tents set up with free samples. I tried Clif Crunch Honey Oat, Clif Bar White Chocolate Mac, Clif Bloks strawberry, a sample of Mix1 Acai Pomegranate 90-cal protein drink, a few sips of Honest Tea and I snagged a ton a few mini Clif bars and Clif Bloks for another time (P.S. electrolyte drinks are disgusting!). I didn’t eat anything besides the tiny samples because I wasn’t hungry at all. It’s weird, but after working out, I’m never hungry. Me and my dad looked around at all the stuff, got a few more free things and then rode back to the car.

Once we got home, I was pretty hungry, so I made myself a fakin’ bacon guac wrap, with tempeh bacon, mixed greens, an Ezekiel tortilla and my homemade edamame guacamole. I also had a white donut peach (btw, doesn’t taste like a donut at all, it’s just shaped like one w/o the hole) and a mini Chocolate Chip Clif bar on the side. And some strawberry Crystal Lite water.

I took a nice refreshing shower which felt amazing. I’m a little tired, but my muscles aren’t sore at all. We’ll see if they are tomorrow 😉 I’m planning on doing some yoga, but taking it easy otherwise. After all, I just rode 7 miles 😛

Q: Do you ever feel hungry after working out?

One thought on “The BIG Day!

Comments are closed.